Blade Buster (NES Homebrew)

Discuss technical or other issues relating to programming the Nintendo Entertainment System, Famicom, or compatible systems.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Eightbit Allstar
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:36 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Blade Buster (NES Homebrew)

Post by Eightbit Allstar » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:45 am

I hope it hasn't been posted before.
I've come across this NES homebrew.

http://hlc6502.web.fc2.com/Bbuster.htm

The game is pretty much like the Time Mode in Recca, and I gotta say, it's by far the best homebrew I've played so far. Too bad the whole page is in Japanese, because I'd like to know what they wrote.

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11991
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Wed Oct 06, 2010 12:08 pm

I had never seen this... Very well done!

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2281
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Post by 3gengames » Wed Oct 06, 2010 12:41 pm

Just downlaoded from the site through NA, Very nice. :)

User avatar
hap
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:17 pm
Contact:

Post by hap » Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:32 am

That's... surprisingly awesome! :)
I won't say it's "the best", with quality stuff already around (eg. IMO the in-progress Chu Chu Rocket port, or Battle Kid), but it would definitely be in my top list.

psycopathicteen
Posts: 2979
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm

Post by psycopathicteen » Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:41 am

Wow! That's the coolest 404 Error I've ever seen!!!! :shock:

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11991
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:59 am

psycopathicteen wrote:Wow! That's the coolest 404 Error I've ever seen!!!! :shock:
There must be something wrong on your end, because the page is working perfectly for me.

psycopathicteen
Posts: 2979
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm

Post by psycopathicteen » Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:36 pm

Works on the computer at school.

I can't believe this isn't causing flicker. How are they doing it? Using explosion sprites that look like several overlapping explosion sprites but really are one?

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2281
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Post by 3gengames » Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:52 pm

Idk...


Let me ask the same question as on Nintendoage....What donor would be needed to make this game work? Or could it be done on the Retro USB with some logic chips? Because it says 256K program and 128 character and mapper 66 on my separator. I thought all decently sized games like that used mappers... :/

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11991
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:35 pm

65024U wrote:What donor would be needed to make this game work?
Nestopia says TKROM (MMC3 with 8KB WRAM and battery). So you're looking for carts like Crystalis, Kirby's Adventure, Shadowgate, Déjà Vu...
Or could it be done on the Retro USB with some logic chips?
No, there is no MMC3 clone yet.
I thought all decently sized games like that used mappers... :/
And what made you think it didn't use a mapper?

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2281
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Post by 3gengames » Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:50 pm

My NES rom divider said it was mapper number 66 which I read online was just a couple logic chips....

http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/GxROM


Maybe something needs fixed? :P



And don't even recommend destroying a Crystalis for it! There not that many out there...use Kirby! He's EVERYWHERE.

User avatar
Dwedit
Posts: 4408
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

Post by Dwedit » Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:56 pm

That is most certainly NOT mapper 66, it doesn't even look like that in a hex editor. I don't know what kind of broken tool you were using. Maybe you stuck in the wrong file?

The two US games that were mapper 66 were Super Mario Bros + Duck Hunt and Dragon Power. (edit: also Gumshoe and Thunder & Lightning)
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2281
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Post by 3gengames » Thu Oct 07, 2010 9:29 pm

Hmmm well I was using my NES ROM separator that I posted a while back.....Let me take a screenie. You can find that topic somewhere on here with the source to the program even.


Is my program broken?.....It told me the mapper right on every other game. Maybe this uses a different NES format? Maybe I did that wrong....hmmm :/


http://oi55.tinypic.com/2vvry3d.jpg


Edit:
Seems I didn't do some needed bit-manipulation in the 6th byte, where the bits 3-0 are used for stuff besides the mapper, and is the first 4-bit value of the 24-bit value for the mapper when it is added to byte 8? I guess I will fix this later....-end epic fail-


Lol I thought mapper 66 was awful dumb choice for such a large game..since it's not possible with GxROM :)

tepples
Posts: 22278
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Post by tepples » Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:50 am

Broken ROM management tools can cause mapper 2 games to appear as mapper 66. If you see "DiskDude!" in the hex editor, you have this problem.

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2281
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Post by 3gengames » Fri Oct 08, 2010 8:09 am

Yes. Nope, no DISK DUDE in the editor on that ROM or my Crystalis ROM that shows up as 66, too. So It needs add and I'll do that later.


Anyone fire it up on a cart to see if it works on a NES? This game seems freaking epic..... :shock: :D

psycopathicteen
Posts: 2979
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm

Post by psycopathicteen » Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:50 pm

65024U wrote:Yes. Nope, no DISK DUDE in the editor on that ROM or my Crystalis ROM that shows up as 66, too. So It needs add and I'll do that later.


Anyone fire it up on a cart to see if it works on a NES? This game seems freaking epic..... :shock: :D
I wouldn't be suprised if it flickers on real hardware, knowing that the NES could only display 4 16x16 sprites on a line.

Post Reply