It is currently Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:20 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:16 am
Posts: 155
Hello everybody.

Sorry, my english is very bad. I am spanish.

Some time ago I was planning a small ROM that attempt to recreate the SNES Zelda on the NES.

The result was this: http://www.mediafire.com/?egog9jl8hfk5dxi

Here you have a screenshot:

Image

Image

Image

I just wanted to explain that I tried to gather two layers and the result was very good. I wish we could get an entire game has to make Zelda 3

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:40 am 
Offline
Formerly 65024U

Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 2257
I'll try to translate the idea of my message in the bottom of this. I took 2 classes of Spanish, heh. :)

Looks okay to me. Does the NES have those colors used in the Zelda sprite? Were you the one who made that ROM with Zelda 3 on the main screen and then went to a somewhat game-like screen with a movable Link?

¡Va bien a mí! ¿Lo hace tener los colores a los NES? ¿Hiciste realizar un ROM con "Zelda III" en la patalla de título y lo tuvo uno otro patalla con Link movimientado?

¡Mí español es no bueno, pero me gusta hacer una tentativa! ¡Tiene uno buena día! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:16 am
Posts: 155
I have never tried it is to do that for lack of time, but I will try it.

Nunca he probado ha hacer eso por falta de tiempo, pero lo intentaré.

:-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7223
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
It's easy to make great looking sprites using 2 layers, however the price to pay is that it will eat up a lot of the 8 sprites per line limitation. It also, obviously, requires 2 palettes to be always reserved for the hero, leaving only 2 of them to be potentially "customizable" for whatever else. Note that many games worked with 4 hardwired sprites palettes during the whole game (Castlevania, Battletoads, Battletoads & Double Dragon) and this worked well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 939
Hard-wired palettes can be effective, but if not done carefully will be very obvious (like in the Zelda games). I had no idea that the Battle Toads games did this, so they must have executed very well :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5706
Location: Canada
Battletoads doesn't do that, exactly.

It has 3 palettes that are always used during gameplay, and one that changes from moment to moment depending on the enemies.

- Green for player 1.
- Orange for player 2.
- Yellow/white for all items and player faces.
- Changes, usually a monochromatic palette for the current enemy.

Some enemies will use one of the 3 fixed palettes (walkers use yellow, crows use orange, etc.) but most use the fourth palette (red pigs, grey pigs, blue flying zappers, etc.)

This is quite similar to the Mega Man games, which tend to have two fixed palettes (for the player and items), and two for enemies on the current screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 8:31 am
Posts: 107
Location: Brazil
Hi Diskover! I liked your Zelda demo a lot. :)
Just a suggestion: Why don't you create a regular 3-color sprite and add flickering to it?
To be honest I have no idea if it's hard to implement this to a playable character (all my flickering tests are static screens made with thefox's NES image converter).

I've made a quick test showing how Link could look with this effect:
Image

It's far from perfect but it can be an alternative way to save precious palette slots.
P.S.: Thanks again for your nice comment on my blog! :)


Attachments:
Link 4 colors.zip [1.98 KiB]
Downloaded 98 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:49 pm 
Offline
Formerly 65024U

Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 2257
Flicker would be pretty much unacceptable IMO. The best way to save palettes is to move to the SNES/Genny. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 8:31 am
Posts: 107
Location: Brazil
3gengames wrote:
Flicker would be pretty much unacceptable IMO. The best way to save palettes is to move to the SNES/Genny. :P


With all my respect but moving a project called "SNES Zelda to NES" to Mega Drive or Super NES sounds a little bit more unacceptable than flickering.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3940
One more alternative:
Megaman style! Overlaid sprites are limited to 8 pixels wide.
Attachment:
megaman_style_2.png
megaman_style_2.png [ 940 Bytes | Viewed 4233 times ]

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:16 am
Posts: 155
Macbee wrote:
Hi Diskover! I liked your Zelda demo a lot. :)
Just a suggestion: Why don't you create a regular 3-color sprite and add flickering to it?
To be honest I have no idea if it's hard to implement this to a playable character (all my flickering tests are static screens made with thefox's NES image converter).

I've made a quick test showing how Link could look with this effect:
Image

It's far from perfect but it can be an alternative way to save precious palette slots.


Also it is a very good idea.

Only do you change the palette or alternate sprites?

In a TV set is the blinking evident? Only I have proved it in emulator and it seems that it is fine.


También es muy buena idea.

¿Solo cambias la paleta o alternas sprites?

¿En un televisor se nota el parpadeo? Solo lo he probado en emulador y parece que va bien.


Macbee wrote:
P.S.: Thanks again for your nice comment on my blog! :)


De nada ;-)

Dwedit wrote:
One more alternative:
Megaman style! Overlaid sprites are limited to 8 pixels wide.

Image


Also I thought about it.

How are you ROM is experimental, I tried with the sprite of entire Link.

I have the first version of Link with 4 colors ... but it was very ugly.

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10046
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Diskover wrote:
Only do you change the palette or alternate sprites?

Actually, the palette remains the same, but the graphics change to alternate the dithering patterns.

Quote:
In a TV set is the blinking evident? Only I have proved it in emulator and it seems that it is fine.

On CRT monitors the flickering is much more evident. I'm of the opinion that this effect is good for demos and such, but its use in games is limited. Look at the ropes in the second stage of Battletoads (or even as the toads enter the first stage): different sections of the ropes are drawn each frame, but the final effect isn't a perfectly continuous line.

Dwedit wrote:
Megaman style! Overlaid sprites are limited to 8 pixels wide.

This is a good alternative., specially if at least one of the palettes can be used on other sprites as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:52 am
Posts: 407
Note that many modern HDTVs cannot handle 240p well, and will turn anything that flickers into a mess of alternating scanlines. An effect like this would likely look very bad.

_________________
- BMF
RuSteD LOgIc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 2961
Location: Tampere, Finland
BMF54123 wrote:
Note that many modern HDTVs cannot handle 240p well, and will turn anything that flickers into a mess of alternating scanlines. An effect like this would likely look very bad.

Yes this is very unfortunate. Then again, you could also exploit this for extra vertical resolution. :twisted: (Unfortunately the fact that it'd only work on certain HDTVs makes it pretty useless, although if done properly, it might look OK on CRTs etc as well.)

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: kkfos.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7223
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Quote:
In a TV set is the blinking evident?

On an old CRT (cathode ray tube) monitor, yes it is very evident and will look horrible. Especially in PAL (50 Hz) regions. I have never tested a 60 Hz CRT, but it is probably a bit less worse, but still bad. Someone from america or japan could confirm this.

However on modern flat-screen TVs, what BMF54123 said will happen : The lines will alternate, looking like smaller pixels. It's a bit hard to explain unless you see it.
A good example for this is the airship's shadow in Final Fantasy games which flickers at 60 Hz. On my new screen, it looked like the shadow was solid, but with horizontal lines half-a-pixel height. Also they would slowly alternate between the upper and lower half of the pixel, making it look even worse. I have no logical explanation for why it is like this, it just happens to be like this.

My vote would be for dwedit's solution, it really looks almost as good as a true two-layer sprite, and is only one sprite more horizontally, for a total of 3 sprites, instead of being a total of 4 sprites, which makes a huge difference in reagard to the 8-sprite per line limitation.

Also, Diskover, I should congratulate you for handling sprites the correct way. Usually, newcomers tries to use the value inside the OAM as being used like variables for the sprite's position, which is terrible practice.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group