It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:03 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 548
Location: United States
Conker's Pocket Tales deletes saved data in Goomba Color upon loading the game. It even gives me a message telling me the data was deleted. What the fudge? :|

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6535
Location: Seattle
FWIW, that doesn't happen in mednafen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 548
Location: United States
FYI dude, the point of Goomba is so I can play on-the-go. Jabroni! 8-)

Otherwise I'd just use VisualBoy Advance with save states, IYKWIM.

G2G J/O J/K. :mrgreen:

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6535
Location: Seattle
You posted to GBdev what sounded like a bug report. If it's a bug in the emulator, you should report it to the bugtracker or author of the emulator. Posting it here is, well, as you said, j/o.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3969
I read this board too, thanks for the bug report.
Booting it in GB mode will delete the save, but I still have no clue what's going on here. Maybe turn off Auto SGB border.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 548
Location: United States
I would've posted this in Pocket Heaven, but that place doesn't exist anymore: http://pocketheaven.com/ph/boards/

And I didn't know if it was an issue with Goomba or the game itself.

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6535
Location: Seattle
Jedi QuestMaster wrote:
I didn't know if it was an issue with Goomba or the game itself.
Then why did you react so abrasively when I added information that indicated it was unlikely to be a bug in the game?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 548
Location: United States
lidnariq wrote:
Jedi QuestMaster wrote:
I didn't know if it was an issue with Goomba or the game itself.
Then why did you react so abrasively when I added information that indicated it was unlikely to be a bug in the game?

Because I was in a bad mood, sorry. :( I also had to look up FWIW, & I accidentally clicked 'Images' & had to look at this:

http://plasmapool.50webs.com/covers/the_brood-back.jpg

And it still doesn't help me much. Did you run the game under 'Gameboy Advance' or 'Gameboy' ? The fact the game has a dedicated "your shit has been erased" screen also perplexes me. :?

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 12:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 8:43 pm
Posts: 1312
Jedi QuestMaster wrote:
I would've posted this in Pocket Heaven, but that place doesn't exist anymore: http://pocketheaven.com/ph/boards/

And I didn't know if it was an issue with Goomba or the game itself.


Oh no! Backups exist of the boards I hope, right? I miss when it was full of activity in the PocketSNES / SNESAdvance days. When did it go down?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 7:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3969
I'm fairly certain that it's the Auto SGB border feature that's messing with the game. It causes the game to boot into GB mode, and runs it until it loads a SGB border, or times out. That game gives the "your save is incompatible" warning message when you switch from GBC mode to GB mode, until you press start where it deletes your save. But I thought I had included code to discard any changes to the saved game, and reload the original save just to handle this game.

Edit: just tested out the game, I see no problems at all. Is your flash cartridge not properly saving the whole 64k?

Edit: Pocketheaven has gone down several times before, and once experienced big data loss. And thanks to horrible URLS for everything (php session id in the URL), nothing got archived by archive.org.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 2:00 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19353
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Dwedit wrote:
Pocketheaven has gone down several times before, and once experienced big data loss. And thanks to horrible URLS for everything (php session id in the URL), nothing got archived by archive.org.

Had I known that that was a problem, then I could have run my phpBB 2 scraper that doesn't care whether the URL has a session ID or not. When this board was migrating from phpBB 2 to phpBB 3 last year, I made a static copy of everything using my scraper in case the conversion didn't work out.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 548
Location: United States
Dwedit wrote:
I'm fairly certain that it's the Auto SGB border feature that's messing with the game. It causes the game to boot into GB mode, and runs it until it loads a SGB border, or times out. That game gives the "your save is incompatible" warning message when you switch from GBC mode to GB mode, until you press start where it deletes your save. But I thought I had included code to discard any changes to the saved game, and reload the original save just to handle this game.

Edit: just tested out the game, I see no problems at all. Is your flash cartridge not properly saving the whole 64k?


All my other games save properly. By the way, it's giving me the error message again. Is there a way to keep the auto SGB feature off? Conker happens to be the first game on the list. :x

_________________
Ruling the World One Bean™ at a Time...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group