It is currently Sun May 28, 2017 7:02 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Gameboy SRAM Copier
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 18362
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Sometimes inserting a GBA cart during multiboot play will cause the GBA to reboot into GBA mode, show the intro animation, and start the game. And if it reboots, it'll check the switch again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gameboy SRAM Copier
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3850
Sounds like that may be a software thing, I've never seen a GBA reboot from having a GBA cartridge inserted in there.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gameboy SRAM Copier
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 18362
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
It might be related to interrupts or power sags. With respect to power sags, I've seen the NES CPU freeze when I connect or disconnect a controller.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gameboy SRAM Copier
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 9:01 am
Posts: 159
Dwedit wrote:
You can stick in a GB cartridge while running a multiboot mode program with all interrupts disabled, and it will reboot into GB mode and run the game (Warning, inserting GB cartridges into a running system may corrupt the saved game). No ARM code or GBA BIOS code is responsible for it switching modes.

As I noted, though, simply flicking the switch with a screwdriver or similar, without any cartridge insertion or removal, will not cause a reboot/mode switch. This means that the switch is not capable of switching modes in itself, after power on. Any mode switch occurring post boot must then be caused either by bus activity, or power glitches.

And regardless, what you said does not contradict what I said, since it could still be the case that any CPU reset, even /reset line in GBC mode, starts in ARM mode and then goes through the check in the BIOS. However (again) those few frames of a fully white screen are consistent with what the BIOS does.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group