Gameboy Sound Question

Discussion of programming and development for the original Game Boy and Game Boy Color.
MoZI

Gameboy Sound Question

Post by MoZI »

Hi Everybody,

I talk too much so to just see my questions skip down past the context description...

To put my questions in context {
I've already learned a lot from reading through everyone's posts here, as well as from all of the links shared. However, I am new to developing and interfacing with older systems, as most of the programming I've done is with higher level languages like C#, PHP, etc for web development, but I am dying to figure out how to get into making hardware prototypes for things.

I have been using Arduino boards to control MIDI enabled devices, and I more or less understand how that environment functions. I have a sequencer prototype that will output MIDI to MIDI devices, but I could just as easily send out messages other than MIDI from my hardware's button pushes and knob turns (ie binary commands to Gameboy's CPU.) I don't understand exactly how this works for the Gameboy (or NES.)

Most of the information I have found for Programming audio uses a cartridge to hold the values to be read into the CPU to be used to tell it what sound to make. I have seen Nanoloop, mGB, and LSDJ where this is the flow, but when looking into how to flash cartridges and the hardware to put compiled code onto the cartridge, I found that most of the equipment to do this is either homemade or super rare and expensive.}

Questions {
So I have found a lot of documentation for the register values the Gameboy uses to tell the CPU to make a noise. Can I just put these values into the system memory using the cartridge connector pins connected to my Arduino and have them read from there?

If yes, where exactly do these commands need to go in the Gameboy?

If not, do I then need to simulate a rom somehow? The orginal ChipMaestro project was using doing something similar for the NES I think.