It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:21 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: GB/C Dev Environment?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:31 am 

I've been looking into GB/C development for the past few months. I tried jumping straight into to Z80 ASM but realized I needed a better understanding of processors in general to really learn ASM. So, I read two books detailing microprocessors and I am now going through a book on Z80. I'm also studying http://nocash.emubase.de/pandocs.htm

But my question is, what do I need to set up a development environment for a large Gameboy project? I have linux and windows based machines. Any suggestions on assemblers, graphics programs, ect. I'm also looking to eventually get my project working on the actual hardware.

If anybody could point me in the right direction that would be great. (GBC-Specific info is preferred).
Thanks (:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:18 am 

Quote:
But my question is, what do I need to set up a development environment for a large Gameboy project? I have linux and windows based machines. Any suggestions on assemblers, graphics programs, ect.

I use WLA-DX for assembling/linking. I know some people doesn't like it, but I think it works fine for my needs.
For graphics I don't really have anything. I wrote my own tool for converting image files to tile data suitable for the monochrome Gameboy, but I haven't put it online yet. I haven't looked into GBC stuff yet, apart from writing a GB/GBC emulator a couple of years ago.
For music I have my own tool. There are probably many others, some of which are likely to be better.

Quote:
I'm also looking to eventually get my project working on the actual hardware.

http://store.kitsch-bent.com/product/usb-64m-smart-card

For general hardware info, pandocs (which you had already found) is a great resource.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:59 am