First attempt at NES graphics, please comment!

A place for your artistic side. Discuss techniques and tools for pixel art on the NES, GBC, or similar platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

FrankenGraphics
Formerly WheelInventor

First attempt at NES graphics, please comment!

Post by FrankenGraphics »

Hi! So this is my first attempt at nes specific graphics. It's supposed to be a graphic prologue that scrolls slowly at a set pattern, and use sprites to display overhead text (very limited capabilities, i know).

It is using up four palettes. All of them have a common black and a common blue. Wanted to add purple but couldn't fit it as for now with all the current choices.

Doing any real level design at this point would be counterintuitive, so this is basically a doodle that just maybe will turn out useful.
What do you think? Any comments, the good and the bad, are appreciated!

Edit: Also, i wonder, have i put too much in the upper part if i'd like to scanline distort/parallax that part?
tokumaru

Re: First attempt at NES graphics, please comment!

Post by tokumaru »

This looks pretty good! Advanced lighting is not ready on the NES. However, it doesn't look as colorful as I'd expect from a scene that uses all 4 palettes.

As for parallax effects, the only problem I see is that those 3 columns at the top could be overlapping some background elements you may want to move.
DragonDePlatino

Post by DragonDePlatino »

I absolutely love this. There's a really cool aesthetic to the scene and I love how you used black as the dominant color. I'm slightly confused about what can be walked on but this is a really natural-looking tileset nevertheless.

Like tokumaru said, your scene is a little monochromatic for something that uses all 4 palettes. You could easily combine them into 2 and very little would be lost:

Even if you don't use the other 2 palettes for background art, they could always be used for GUI, giant background enemies or palette-shifting items like coins.