It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:45 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Tile set set up
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:08 am
Posts: 20
FrankenGraphics wrote:
Quote:
its very frustrating that it keeps changing the whole colour pallet of the tileset when i switch to another pallete for a different tile.


If i'm understanding this right... well, the thing is a tileset doesn't have colours, or subpalettes for that matter. Don't focus on what colours the tileset appears to have in the tile window - focus on what it looks like when you've placed it on the nametable field. This is where you assign which palette to use for backgrounds - this is called the attribute table. You can view the attribute table by toggling the "attribute" toggle switch.

For sprites, it works a little different, but principially the same. Tiles don't have colour - colours are assigned on a per-sprite basis.


yeah, i think i got ya, create artwork, then select tile, then select pallete and adjust occordingly. :) i forgot that it changes for 16x16 grid, not 8x8.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tile set set up
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:08 am
Posts: 20
Out of curiosity, is it a must that 1 out of the 4 palletes share the same colour? (For backgrounds)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tile set set up
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 11:46 am
Posts: 92
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Chasersgaming wrote:
Out of curiosity, is it a must that 1 out of the 4 palletes share the same colour? (For backgrounds)


Yes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tile set set up
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:13 am 
Online
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 1644
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Technically, the background layer allows for 3 colours + transparency. The first entry in any subpalette is really that transparency, but its value acts as a flood-fill for the screen colour behind that background layer.

If a sprite is drawn behind the background layer, you will notice that slot 0 in the subpalette does not cover that sprite.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tile set set up
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:08 am
Posts: 20
nesrocks wrote:
Yes, please do!

im getting the hang of it now :)


Attachments:
preview.png
preview.png [ 93.96 KiB | Viewed 824 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tile set set up
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:40 pm
Posts: 270
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
That looks like a fun game to play :)
After you're satisfied you can optimize it a lot by removing duplicate tiles. I see there are several, and NESST has an option to highlight duplicates!

_________________
http://nesrocks.com/blog/superpitfall30th/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tile set set up
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:08 am
Posts: 20
Thanks, it’s not a game, just some artwork to share. I see that it can get rid of duplicates which is good, oh I know what I was going to ask, what is the differences between the NESST and YY-CHR colour palettes? One Pal, ons NTSC? Which is the preference or is there not really a definitive one to use, is one more genuine?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tile set set up
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:40 pm
Posts: 270
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Either can use any palette by default (well at least yy-chr I know can). Just download a palette and replace the file in the main folder. Nes palettes are a topic of their own, google "best nes palette" and you'll see several theories.

_________________
http://nesrocks.com/blog/superpitfall30th/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tile set set up
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:08 am
Posts: 20
OK, thank you all for your help with this, I think I can get me head around creating assets for the NES system now, Gameboy and the SNES. Il post any new work on a new thread for you guys to have fun and play around with. I’m sure the more I work with it the more I will improve, thanks again you have been a great help!

:)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group