NES Screen Tool

A place for your artistic side. Discuss techniques and tools for pixel art on the NES, GBC, or similar platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Jeroen
Posts: 982
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:49 pm

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Jeroen » Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:05 pm

The save to clipboard option seems broken for me. (Windows 7)

Shiru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Shiru » Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:05 pm

All of these options or only some of them? I don't have Windows 7 around to check if the code works there at al.

User avatar
Jeroen
Posts: 982
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:49 pm

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Jeroen » Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:08 pm

At the very least the nametable ones (Both copy as C and as ASM)

edit: after a quick test, the metasprite one works. So just the nametable ones it seems.

Shiru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Shiru » Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:29 pm

Hm. They use mostly the same code, but I'll check it out anyway, maybe there is some difference.

Shiru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Shiru » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:51 am

Jeroen, did you try to use the nametable functions when a selection is set? They only work with a selection. Other that this, I don't see anything special in the code in both nametables and metasprites cases.

tsu
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:00 am

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by tsu » Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:27 am

I've attached a bmp that I made in gimp. It should be only one tile. Somehow the rightmost edge tiles miss the 8th pixel.
I am running nesst under wine.
Chose 'do not save color space information' when exporting from gimp.

I wonder if it's only on my end. I had trouble copying to clippboard, too. But didn't try pasting into another windows app under wine.

Thanks for the work you have done, anyways.

p.s Had to rename the bmp extension.
Attachments
right-edge.txt
Bmp. 8th pixel of rightmost tile chopped.
(30.12 KiB) Downloaded 255 times

Shiru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Shiru » Fri Feb 15, 2013 1:04 am

The file you have provided does not contain any graphics at all, it is all-solid color. Did a few exports to test, don't see this problem, no missing pixels.

tsu
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:00 am

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by tsu » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:48 am

And you got just a single tile? The image was supposes to be all one color, and be one tile. I just ran another test, this time in virtualbox with the windows clone reactos, still happens that I get two tiles. If I have the full layout, the whole right side tiles have a transparent color 1 pixel horizontal stripe. I don't know why. it had been working fine. Not to much up your thread, but just noting this in case it pops up again.

Shiru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Shiru » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:16 am

Oh, I get what do you mean, the two tiles after import, not export. OK, I'll investigate what happens there.

Shiru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Shiru » Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:54 pm

It was an import bug introduced in the last version. Fixed.

User avatar
Dafydd
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Dafydd » Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:43 pm

Say I have some text in my nametable, using font tiles at $00-$2F, and then realize I want my font tiles at $30-5F instead. So I move the tiles from $00-$2F to $30-$5F, and I have to retype all my text again. A simple button somewhere for enabling the nametable to update itself to use new tile numbers as the tileset is changed would be neat. Or maybe this feature already exists, and I overlooked it?

Other than that, this tool is fantastic. It, and discovering the .incbin command (that I'd been looking for but didn't find until this Friday) has led to more progress in my quest to make my own NES game than I've seen since I signed up on these boards. Keep up the good work, and thanks! :D
Last edited by Dafydd on Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Shiru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Shiru » Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:53 pm

There is no such feature yet, but I'm considering to add it for a while now. Think I'll make an update soon.

For now you can use the Nametable/Add offset feature, it helps to renumber tiles in the nametable in situations of this kind.

User avatar
Dafydd
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Dafydd » Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:35 pm

Ah. Yeah, that works too. Thanks again!

User avatar
Punch
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:52 am

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by Punch » Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:18 pm

Just passing by to say that your tool is the best out there. Seriously, NES Screen Tool + YY-CHR = unbeatable duo. The only reason I'm programming my own level editor on XNA is because I would like to not have to write all trigger zones and sprite placements by hand. God bless you for your tool! :D
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 255 character limit.

User avatar
caramelpuffpuff
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 4:16 pm

Re: NES Screen Tool

Post by caramelpuffpuff » Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:48 pm

A questions I want to ask that was in mind a lot, but a little nervous of receptions.

Is this needed/required as the only way to create certain graphics, like background such as stages, game-over, victory, and title screen? Or coding is also an optional, but this is most recommanded?
I am thinking of requesting a tutor [free] to learn NES programming in 6502 Assembly, as I am still baffled on the Bunnyboy 6504 lessons. If anyone want to help, I'm happy.
Bear in mind I may act silly or have trouble understanding, so please bear with me.

Post Reply