It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:09 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 266 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 18  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:49 pm
Posts: 968
The save to clipboard option seems broken for me. (Windows 7)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
All of these options or only some of them? I don't have Windows 7 around to check if the code works there at al.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:49 pm
Posts: 968
At the very least the nametable ones (Both copy as C and as ASM)

edit: after a quick test, the metasprite one works. So just the nametable ones it seems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
Hm. They use mostly the same code, but I'll check it out anyway, maybe there is some difference.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
Jeroen, did you try to use the nametable functions when a selection is set? They only work with a selection. Other that this, I don't see anything special in the code in both nametables and metasprites cases.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:00 am
Posts: 27
I've attached a bmp that I made in gimp. It should be only one tile. Somehow the rightmost edge tiles miss the 8th pixel.
I am running nesst under wine.
Chose 'do not save color space information' when exporting from gimp.

I wonder if it's only on my end. I had trouble copying to clippboard, too. But didn't try pasting into another windows app under wine.

Thanks for the work you have done, anyways.

p.s Had to rename the bmp extension.


Attachments:
File comment: Bmp. 8th pixel of rightmost tile chopped.
right-edge.txt [30.12 KiB]
Downloaded 177 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 1:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
The file you have provided does not contain any graphics at all, it is all-solid color. Did a few exports to test, don't see this problem, no missing pixels.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:00 am
Posts: 27
And you got just a single tile? The image was supposes to be all one color, and be one tile. I just ran another test, this time in virtualbox with the windows clone reactos, still happens that I get two tiles. If I have the full layout, the whole right side tiles have a transparent color 1 pixel horizontal stripe. I don't know why. it had been working fine. Not to much up your thread, but just noting this in case it pops up again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
Oh, I get what do you mean, the two tiles after import, not export. OK, I'll investigate what happens there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
It was an import bug introduced in the last version. Fixed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 114
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Say I have some text in my nametable, using font tiles at $00-$2F, and then realize I want my font tiles at $30-5F instead. So I move the tiles from $00-$2F to $30-$5F, and I have to retype all my text again. A simple button somewhere for enabling the nametable to update itself to use new tile numbers as the tileset is changed would be neat. Or maybe this feature already exists, and I overlooked it?

Other than that, this tool is fantastic. It, and discovering the .incbin command (that I'd been looking for but didn't find until this Friday) has led to more progress in my quest to make my own NES game than I've seen since I signed up on these boards. Keep up the good work, and thanks! :D


Last edited by Dafydd on Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:41 pm
Posts: 1161
There is no such feature yet, but I'm considering to add it for a while now. Think I'll make an update soon.

For now you can use the Nametable/Add offset feature, it helps to renumber tiles in the nametable in situations of this kind.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 114
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Ah. Yeah, that works too. Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:52 am
Posts: 218
Just passing by to say that your tool is the best out there. Seriously, NES Screen Tool + YY-CHR = unbeatable duo. The only reason I'm programming my own level editor on XNA is because I would like to not have to write all trigger zones and sprite placements by hand. God bless you for your tool! :D

_________________
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 255 character limit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Screen Tool
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 4:16 pm
Posts: 62
A questions I want to ask that was in mind a lot, but a little nervous of receptions.

Is this needed/required as the only way to create certain graphics, like background such as stages, game-over, victory, and title screen? Or coding is also an optional, but this is most recommanded?

_________________
I am thinking of requesting a tutor [free] to learn NES programming in 6502 Assembly, as I am still baffled on the Bunnyboy 6504 lessons. If anyone want to help, I'm happy.
Bear in mind I may act silly or have trouble understanding, so please bear with me.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 266 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 18  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group