Russian Roulette [Complete!]

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Mon May 30, 2016 8:46 pm

darryl.revok wrote:Is this going to be a Compo entry? I was thinking so since you linked it from the Compo planning thread.

Just thinking this could be moved into the Compo 2016 subforum.
Sure, that would be splendid.

Here's the latest update.
RussianRoulette.nes
(288.03 KiB) Downloaded 472 times
I'm getting graphical glitches again; this time horizontal bars in certain tile spaces. Anyone else noticing these?

User avatar
thefox
Posts: 3141
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Tampere, Finland
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by thefox » Mon May 30, 2016 9:33 pm

Jedi QuestMaster wrote:I'm getting graphical glitches again; this time horizontal bars in certain tile spaces. Anyone else noticing these?
Where are you running it?
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: fo.aspekt.fi

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Mon May 30, 2016 9:52 pm

thefox wrote:Where are you running it?
On a PowerPak.

User avatar
thefox
Posts: 3141
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Tampere, Finland
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by thefox » Mon May 30, 2016 10:02 pm

This diagnostic from NDX might be a clue:

Code: Select all

Warning: Writing to $2007 while PPU is rendering (PC = $EBFA)  (further messages suppressed)
(Appears when the DEMO mode starts.)

There was/is a glitch in most PowerPak mappers causing PPU writes during rendering (which signifies a bug in the program 99.9% of the time) to leak through to PowerPak's CHR-RAM chip. Details at viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11339.

I worked around the glitch in PowerMappers v23 (at https://kkfos.aspekt.fi/), but naturally this is something that's better fixed in the game itself.
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: fo.aspekt.fi

calima
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by calima » Tue May 31, 2016 2:03 am

ebfa is inside the NMI routine, specifically _flush_vram_update in neslib. The first update which loads the gun writes about 55 bytes to the nametable, which should be well below the 160 bytes recommendation even with the general overhead.

The normal frame code likewise doesn't get even close to overdoing a frame, it stays below 1/5 with occasional spikes to 1/4.

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Thu Jun 02, 2016 11:41 pm

thefox wrote:I worked around the glitch in PowerMappers v23 (at https://kkfos.aspekt.fi/), but naturally this is something that's better fixed in the game itself.
I used to have those! :o Okay, thanks. I'll try it out when I have time.

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Sat Jun 04, 2016 11:06 pm

I tried out the ROM with PowerMappers v23 and don't see graphical glitches anymore.

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:04 pm

Is there anyone out there willing to help out solely with the Zapper functions? I'd need someone who knows how to program and has the hardware to test it.

lidnariq
Posts: 9284
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by lidnariq » Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:08 pm

Remind me what exactly it is you need done with the zapper? Just the bit where it's missing the trigger?

tepples
Posts: 21936
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by tepples » Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:12 pm

I have an NES, a CRT, a PowerPak, and a Zapper. Do you also need to shoot targets or select menu items, or do you just need to know when the trigger is pulled?

calima
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by calima » Thu Jun 16, 2016 3:44 am

The existing issues are: the title screen menu occasionally goes down two items when shooting outside the TV (not sure if this still happens in the latest ROM), and about 10% of in-game shots do not register. Neither of these happens in emulators - in emulators, the menu always goes down one item as it should, and all shots register.

I don't have the hw to do zapper testing, but debugging this should be fairly quick for someone who does. His Zapper is in good condition, so I don't know how it differs from emulated behavior.

I can't comment on if new functionality is wanted, that's up to Jedi.

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Thu Jun 16, 2016 6:00 am

The title screen works fine now. In-game trigger pulls are still an issue, though.

calima mentioned that there was little/no room for code to add target behavior for the Zapper in-game. Instead, we added that functionality to the gamepad (holding 'left' or 'right' is like aiming the lightgun).

I'd be grateful if this could still be done with the Zapper though. I'll pay you the same rate, tepples.

tepples
Posts: 21936
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by tepples » Thu Jun 16, 2016 7:09 am

Can you make a "frames since last trigger pull" variable and not register another pull if it's been fewer than ten?

calima
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by calima » Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:09 am

@tepples

The spurious pull on the title screen is fixed, so the only remaining issue is that in-game pulls are sometimes missed.

User avatar
Jedi QuestMaster
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Russian Roulette [Testers Needed]

Post by Jedi QuestMaster » Thu Jun 16, 2016 11:40 pm

Yeah, if you could just solve that issue, that'd be great.

Post Reply