WIP - Falling Blocks game

A place where you can keep others updated about your NES-related projects through screenshots, videos or information in general.

Moderator: Moderators

soiaf

WIP - Falling Blocks game

Post by soiaf »

I thought I'd share my progress with my first game for the NES, Falling Blocks.
This is a port of my game that I wrote for the ZX Spectrum - see here if you want to try that version out: https://github.com/soiaf/FallingBlocks

I plan on adding some extra levels/challenges that weren't in the ZX Spectrum version.
The game itself is essentially a variant of Tetris, but I'm adding some features which hopefully should make it interesting to people.
I only started learning 6502/NES programming last month, but as I've done assembly programming I had no issues with 6502, the fun has been learning how to interact with the NES.

Attached is an early alpha of my game - just one level, with no special features - I guess it's really just to show that I've started :)

Some notes about the controls:
Pressing Start in-game will switch on/off a ghost - this shows where the shape would end up if you were to drop.
Pressing B will swap the shape with the saved shape. You can't swap again till you have placed the shape and are on a new shape.
Tapping A quickly will drop the shape to the bottom (though you then have a brief moment of time to move it left or right). Holding A will make the shape move quicker down the screen.

In the final version I will have a settings menu where, for example, the user can choice their preferred default behaviour for the drop button (always drop, fall faster while held, or mixture).

The one concern I have about the game right now is sound/music. I made a test version where I integrated GGSound into my code, but I have no talent for producing music myself, so I guess I'm going to have to look around for suitable music that I'm allowed use. If anyone has any suggestions here I'd love to hear them.