Untitled adventure game, Milestone 1: Scrolling and tools.

A place where you can keep others updated about your NES-related projects through screenshots, videos or information in general.

Moderator: Moderators

bleubleu

Untitled adventure game, Milestone 1: Scrolling and tools.

Post by bleubleu »

Hi.

I've been working on-and-off since the spring on a little zelda-like adventure game. I thought id share what i have so far, maybe that will start a discussion, maybe not at all.

I've mostly been working on the foundations of the engine and tools. I have zero gameplay element, that will come next. Everything you see if obviously a placeholder (my character is a litteral crash test dummy to make this extra clear). I am not an artist in the slightest. I eventually hope to reach a point where I have enough of a game to partner up with a real artist to make this look real nice.

So here is what i've got so far. I'll cover some of the details of each in this post:
  • 4-way scrolling (100% artefact free)
  • basic assets (metasprites/tiles, animations, levels, etc.)
  • basic editor
  • small scripting language
Before i start rambling on, thanks to everyone who answered my questions. Thanks to Sour for Mesen, aka the greatest development tool, after visual studio.

4 way scrolling

Using vertical mirroring and assuming an overscan of 8px on the top and bottom of the screen, that leaves us with 16px to hide all of the attributes defects. This mean that if we are pixel-perfect, we can get really nice 4-way scrolling without using any special mapper (I use an MMC3)

Here is it running in a small C# version of the game I use for debugging. I use black bars to hide the overscan. When I switch to the debugging mode, there is 2 sets of red lines, one with the overscan and one without. Notice how all the artefacts are kept outside of the visible area. Note that the red/yellow squares are kept on screen for a few milliseconds, i'm not updating that many tiles.