It is currently Wed May 22, 2019 3:37 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 3:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 3:09 am
Posts: 451
Stop making everyone else look bad, it's not allowed. :shock:

Jokes aside, great work as always. As a programmer I'm curious about how you encode the 32x32 pixel metatiles, since it now allows more than 256 of them. Are they just bit-packed into an array, or are you using some form of room-level compression (other than metatiles)?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 5:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:57 pm
Posts: 108
to be perfectly honest, it's achieved by being quite wasteful with ROM.

once we were done with the compo version we moved to a BNROM board, which has 16 times as much data.... so each 4x4 on the screen has a 'high' value (0-3), and a 'low value' (0-255). obviously these could be bit-packed, but since there's more ROM space than we need to use, i didn't bother.

i also got to devote an entire bank to sound, and have around 20 minutes of music written.

in addition we also devoted 8 banks to a 'hard' mode and a 'custom' mode so that players can make their own levels using the level editor and overwrite the relevant data on a ROM file to make their own game.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:29 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Montreal, Canada
Nice! Cool stuff man!! Keep posting stuff on Instagram! :D

-Mat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 2:40 pm
Posts: 153
FrankenGraphics wrote:
I'm curious what your thoughts are. :o


Hmm. As a programmer. I would have made tools to take the finished levels and build the metatile sets, then find out that it causes more problems than it solves. I'd still have no idea what to make or how to make it. Not sure I would recommend it as a design strategy... :p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 2:06 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 11347
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Those graphics are gorgeous!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:46 am
Posts: 92
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
High quality stuff all around! Very inspirational work! :)

At first I was a bit bothered by the acceleration/deceleration but after a while I got used to it and quite liked how the running speed influenced the height of jumps. Like super mario with a little bit of sonic the hedgehog.

Btw, did you solve the graphics issue you had with the demo on PAL machines? The one where all graphics were black? If so, what caused the issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:41 pm 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 2018
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
thanks!

The running/jumping physics have actually been tightened up a bit for the coming kickstarter version. Same SMB-style rules apply, but the acceleration is a bit snappier. Leads to fewer missed high platform reaches and is a bit friendlier to first-time players of the game. :)

do you mean the black and white ripple on a particular line i posted about in the graphics subforum? Turned out it was the luma filters' fault on my particular tv set, but i avoided the trigging condition (vertical chroma bleed resulting in a mid-bright gray.. or what should be a gray on a more robust tv set).

If you mean something else, toggle_switch might be able to chime in on that... our test builds have worked with PAL units for as long as i can remember now. I seem to remember we had a funny mishap when the game was converted to BNROM where an empty block was loaded into chr-ram at some point.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 9:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:57 pm
Posts: 108
the BNROM issue was caused by a mapper issue... whatever device you were putting it on was only giving 4 BNROM banks instead of 16.

it made the screen go black instead of loading graphics, IIRC. fixed by updating the mapper.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:46 am
Posts: 92
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
I was refering to the issue that toggle switch described here https://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=16785&start=60
toggle switch wrote:
could use a bit of help troubleshooting.

code appears to be working fine on emulators and on AVS but apparently is getting some serious bugs on an actual PAL machine/powerpak combo:

the sound is working properly (which means that bankswitches are occurring and working during every NMI), and controls work too, which means the main code is also running during that time period, but the graphics are all black and the game 'resets' after the opening sequence plays.

just looking for some known areas where BNROM emulation doesn't meet the reality.

I guess that was the BNROM issue you described now, toggle switch. Glad you got it sorted! :beer:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group