It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:45 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:07 pm
Posts: 64
Location: MN, USA
Well, if you already have a drawer of chopped up NES carts (I do) then it doesn't matter too much if you are using an original cartridge. And yes, Winter Games deserves to die!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 3:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3484
Location: Indianapolis
I forget which emulator I used, but I know I had played Tecmo Bowl and Solar Wars with netplay before. I wonder if there's any chance an emulator supports 4-player netplay?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:09 pm
Posts: 1035
I haven't specifically tried it, but nestopia likely supports 4 players online. I know it support 4 pads and have played online with two people with it before.

_________________
https://kasumi.itch.io/indivisible


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19233
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I tried playing a 2-player NES game online (LJ65 in Nestopia). It was far too laggy to be playable. Wouldn't 4 players suffer from even more lag?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:09 pm
Posts: 1035
I've never hard problems with lag with people and servers close to me. What server did you use?

_________________
https://kasumi.itch.io/indivisible


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Finland
I tried playing the game with a friend in the next city with Nestopia (I had a kaillera server on my other machine). It worked fine, except my friend complained about the ingame sounds being strange.

I added a page on the nesdev wiki today: http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Super_PakPak. Have you noticed, that the game also supports an analog controller (specs on the wikipage). I haven't had time to try it myself :)

If it works fine, there might be even a slight market for a real cartridge bundled with 2 analog controllers with example? The current game binary must be free to distribute, however, because of my contract with the Assembly organization.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19233
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
artoh wrote:
If it works fine, there might be even a slight market for a real cartridge bundled with 2 analog controllers with example?

Arkanoid came with a paddle, and that paddle still fetches a pretty penny on eBay.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 5:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 3:42 pm
Posts: 65
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TnYQN7FUVLU

I let the visitors at Kulturkalaset (Gothenburg, Sweden) try the game a couple of weeks ago. They liked it and really enjoyed playing it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:21 am
Posts: 189
Location: Sol 3 in Mutter's Spiral
Hi Artoh,

Have you considered directly supporting the Horiatrak? It's the only analogue control (that I can recall) for the Famicom and it can be adapted to work on the NES. The beauty of it is that they are pretty inexpensive...and easily obtained. Sadly, only a few games had software support for using them, and they don't have a digital trackball mode like the CX-80 does, so the selection of games for them is rather limited.

I guess it would be possible to adapt Apple II, Atari CX52 or Atari CX-22 (or even the ProLine TB) controllers to work as analogue devices for your game, but the Horitrak is ideal as it is designed for the FC hardware and requires no adapter to function.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 3:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19233
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
This game may be included in Double Action 53's multiplayer-only section.

I've been given a copy of the source code so that I can properly reset patch it. I adapted it to my build system with the help of an NESASM to ca65 translator that I wrote in Python, and I want to make sure I didn't make any serious mistakes. So I'd like people to test the attached copy.

Technical specs:
UNROM, 65536 byte PRG ROM
The second half of 16K banks 1 and 2 are unused. I will eventually stuff a couple 8K programs in there.


Xious: Could someone send me an NES-adapted HoriTrak to test with? I'd eventually like to make a single library that works with both Super NES Mouse and HoriTrak protocols.


Attachments:
pakpakpakandpak.nes.zip [22.15 KiB]
Downloaded 77 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 6:18 pm 
Offline
Formerly 43110
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:01 am
Posts: 313
Location: us-east
I played through the 12 levels on both original release and this with two nes controllers on powerpak and everything tested out ok.

Though I wonder why the data from $1010 to $2010 (ines offset) is shifted over by one byte. Only reason I noticed is I've been recently looking at various ROMs through a CHR viewer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 6:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19233
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
43110 wrote:
I played through the 12 levels on both original release and this with two nes controllers on powerpak and everything tested out ok.

Thank you for testing. Now all I have to do is shove other 8K games into the gaps at $6010 and $A010 (iNES offset).

Quote:
Though I wonder why the data from $1010 to $2010 (ines offset) is shifted over by one byte.

It's an artifact of the game trying to put 8194 bytes of data in an 8192 byte segment. NESASM is slightly more lenient about this, but ca65 will report a 1- or 2-byte segment overflow.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group