It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:53 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 6502 simulator in 6502
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 12:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19115
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I'm aware of two 6502 simulators in 6502 assembly language:

Are there any others?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10066
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
And what exactly would be the purpose of simulating a 6502 in 6502 assembly?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:43 pm 
Offline
NESICIDE developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:55 pm
Posts: 1026
Location: Minneapolis, MN
tokumaru wrote:
And what exactly would be the purpose of simulating a 6502 in 6502 assembly?


Isn't there a Turing-ism or something along the lines of "any machine can simulate any other machine, even itself". Or maybe it was a language-ism...any language can be used to construct any other language, even itself. Gah! I'm not remembering my college classes too well am I.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19115
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
How about "because I can"? Or "because I want to make an environment allowing single stepping through 6502 code on any platform that can run an NES emulator, even if a debugger hasn't yet been ported to it"?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10066
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
tepples wrote:
"because I want to make an environment allowing single stepping through 6502 code on any platform that can run an NES emulator, even if a debugger hasn't yet been ported to it"

Since there are a lot of things that can't be debugged that way, I imagine this is basically to inspect the logic? How would you control such a debugger while the program is running? If the emulator doesn't have a debugger, will you output debug information to the screen?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:30 pm
Posts: 168
There's The Incredible KIMplement for the Commodore 64, emulating the MOS KIM-1. It doesn't handle the undocs, though.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group