It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:48 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 1:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2425
How many hardware resolutions does the Turbografx/PCE have?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 2:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2806
I seem to recall most games use a couple resolutions but that you can actually specify the number of desired lines and the width of the lines in 8 pixel increments. Many games run in a resolution very similar to the SNES and the Genesis's 32 cell width mode.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:52 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6517
Location: Seattle
The last time I checked, I think it supports arbitrary X (divisible by 8 ) and Y (all integers) resolutions of up to 512x256 and pixel clocks corresponding to approximately 512, 320, and 256 pixels visible onscreen. Wikipedia

edit: killed the accidental smiley


Last edited by lidnariq on Fri Aug 31, 2012 11:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 11:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:44 pm
Posts: 924
Location: Japan
Yes, that's generally correct. I made a screen dimension test program on the PCE and had this to say in the readme:

Quote:
Here are the maximum resolutions that I can get on my PC-Engine system and video monitor:

Low resolution (5Mhz clock): 282 x 242
Regs: $02,$00,$23,$0A,$00,$0E,$00F1,$03

Med. resolution (7Mhz clock): 377 x 242
Regs: $03,$02,$2F,$07 (rest are the same)

High resolution (10Mhz clock): 565 x 242
Regs: $00,$08,$46,$04 (rest are the same)

My TV (Panasonic, NTSC) has much less horizontal overscan visible (the usual 256 at the 5Mhz
clock), but the full 242 lines are visible all the same.

The majority (90%) of games on the PCE run at 256x239 lines of resolution, although some standouts do more (R-Type, Sherlock Holmes) or less (1941, Dragon's Curse.)

The display hardware of the PCE can also be coerced to do interlacing, though unlike the SNES and MD, not all TVs accept this signal.

_________________
http://www.chrismcovell.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group