Contra J repro on Batman 2?

A place that you can discuss reproduction of classic titles or "licensed-for-reproduction" homebrew for personal use.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Forum rules
1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.
User avatar
aodinets
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: Contra J repro on Batman 2?

Post by aodinets » Sun Nov 08, 2015 6:21 am

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3480&start=75#p120092
l_oliveira wrote:
aodinets wrote:There is not additional sound, I don't understand why.
You're using HACKED copy of Gimmick game (Suikan Pipe). That will NEVER work because Suikan Pipe has music program code disabled (music writes disrupt VRC chip operation).
Maybe somebody can advise? how to enable music code on my hardware without VRC conflict?

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Contra J repro on Batman 2?

Post by l_oliveira » Sun Nov 08, 2015 7:00 am

aodinets wrote:viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3480&start=75#p120092

Maybe somebody can advise? how to enable music code on my hardware without VRC conflict?
Not using a VRC chip is the easiest solution.

Unfortunately anything you write on the ROM region will end writting to VRC registers. Gimmick! uses a area which on FME7 and Sunsoft 5a are empty so no conflicts happen.

And anyway Suikan Pipe is a horrible hack because it has bad music anyway (VRC can't bank the DPCM region so you get bad DPCM sound).

Find a FME7, 5a or even 5b cart without sound (Some Gremilins catridges had 5b inside without using the sound part) cart to make your Gimmick! cartridge.

bg8eqb
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:46 am

Re: Contra J repro on Batman 2?

Post by bg8eqb » Mon Dec 02, 2019 7:48 pm

If you want to use VRC4b mode to run Gradius II RPG, you must use a chip with A17. A17-VRC4 chip's 29 PIN can work properly. I tested it!

Post Reply