It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 2:24 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Forum rules

1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 6:00 pm 

Hi, I'm a super noob to the forums, but I've been lurking for a while.

I am an electrical engineering student and avid retro gamer. I am interested in converting famicom carts to english using either official NES rom translations or fan translations. Specifically, I have a copy of Princess Tomato in the Salad Kingdom that I'd like to flash to the US rom version. The reason for this is both as a learning experience, and also I have an A/V Famicom as my primary Nintendo, so the carts look better in there. I have access to an *prom flasher, so really my only barrier to entry is knowledge.

I'm looking at the mask rom pinout here: http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Mask_ROM_pinout

My question is on which legs will I need to lift on a 27C64 eprom in order to place in the mask rom socket? If I'm understanding the article, I will need to lift A16 - 19 and bridge them to the place under the PRG column. So for example, I would lift A19 and wire that to the PCB where A17 would normally go. Is that correct?

Also, will I place the eprom so that the lower pins match up? I think pictures would best describe what I'm talking about here.

Picture A:

Picture B:

Also, as a confirmation, which eprom size will I want for this rom?

I think that's all my questions for now, but if there's something obvious I'm missing here please let me know! Thanks in advance for any help you can give me!

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 6:14 pm 

catskull wrote:
27C64
Danger, Will Robinson! That is a 64 kibibit UVEPROM, suitable only for NROM CHR and/or Galaxian's PRG.

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 6:45 pm 

lidnariq wrote: