It is currently Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:14 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 416
Joe wrote:
Done!

I wonder if there's already a mapper number assigned for this configuration.


emu src ? you have?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7210
Location: Seattle
Joe wrote:
I don't see anything connected to 74191 pin 5. The connection to that pin controls the direction of the 16-step counter, but I'm not sure what it will do if it's not connected at all...
The various BJT-based 74xx technologies (instead of FET-based) signal using current instead of voltage, so an open input is usually equivalent to a +5V input.
(e.g. datasheet for DM74LS14 says IH = 20µA; IL = -400µA )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 725
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
I confirm this.
Pin 5 of 74191 is connected to noting. I took a look at the board right now.

Looking at the pinout of the mapper, seems to be exactly the same as this one http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/VRC2_pinout
Except that pin 13 is connected to VRAM /A10 instead of PA10, pins 16-17-18-19-39 and 28 are connected to nothing, but may have the same function as described on the wiki.

Does the external IRQ circuit explains the slowdowns on this game?
Should I try to redump the CHR?
I'll try to assemble a Contra J repro with this parts, any other game recommendation? I think Crisis Force won't work in this mapper, will it??

Again, many thanks for everybody!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Posts: 395
Location: Brasilia, Brazil
VRC2 and VRC4 are *almost* the same thing. But they aren't the same thing. You won't get VRC4 games work on VRC2.

The inverse surely is possible (with ROM hacking) as I've done it myself.

VRC4 has the IRQ timer and is capable of using bigger PRG/CHR ROMs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 725
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
l_oliveira wrote:
VRC2 and VRC4 are *almost* the same thing. But they aren't the same thing. You won't get VRC4 games work on VRC2.


Yeah, I have thought this, but asked anyway... you never know...

Will stay with Contra as this game marked my childhood, and this is the prime objective of my small collection.
Think I'll start tomorrow, because it's raining hard now, the perfect weather to take a nap!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:17 pm
Posts: 437
lidnariq wrote:
The various BJT-based 74xx technologies (instead of FET-based) signal using current instead of voltage, so an open input is usually equivalent to a +5V input.
(e.g. datasheet for DM74LS14 says IH = 20µA; IL = -400µA )

That would make it behave like the FME-7 IRQ counter, if the FME-7 only let you set the highest four bits of the counter. (In fact, the hacked ROM uses the original counter values. It writes the high 8 bits to $F003, and the low 8 bits to $F002.)

Fisher wrote:
Looking at the pinout of the mapper, seems to be exactly the same as this one http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/VRC2_pinout
Except that pin 13 is connected to VRAM /A10 instead of PA10, pins 16-17-18-19-39 and 28 are connected to nothing, but may have the same function as described on the wiki.

That pinout has some mistakes.

Fisher wrote:
Does the external IRQ circuit explains the slowdowns on this game?

The hacks they used to convert it from FME-7 to VRC2 added some code, so that could be why it slows down. It's hard to check if the IRQ could cause slowdown without an emulator that implements this mapper.

Fisher wrote:
Should I try to redump the CHR?

Yes. It's probably the same as the original, but it's good to know for sure.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Posts: 395
Location: Brasilia, Brazil
That pinout is just confusing to read because it covers both VRC2 and VRC4. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 6:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 416
Fisher,Cassette, Is there such a phenomenon?
untitled.av.


Attachments:
Untitled1.rar [480.38 KiB]
Downloaded 178 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 725
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
zxbdragon wrote:
Fisher,Cassette, Is there such a phenomenon?

Yeah! It plays almost like this!!
Although it don't have the hearth color glitch.
The energy glitch is present, and looks much worse on TV.
You see the slowdown on this first level!!
On the sewers and cavern it gets much worse!!
A lot of parts on stage 4-3 seems to be in slow motion!! I thought the game was going to lock out!!

Is the current Nestopia that can play it almost perfect or is it a modded version?
What do you mean with cassette?? I didn't get it! :roll:
Looks like I won't need a CHR redump!! :-)


Last edited by Fisher on Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7210
Location: Seattle
"Cassette" is another term that's used to mean "cartridge" or "game pak".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 725
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Cool!!
I've already seem it on some carts, but didn't understand the context.
In my native language cassette may refer to an audio tape, and there's even a word (a bad word) that some people say when they're surprised that sounds almost the same thing.
I thought it was kind of a joke :-), but nevermind...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20157
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
カセット (pronounced "kasetto") is often used for a game cartridge in Japanese, possibly because of its lack of complex consonant clusters compared to "cartridge". For example, Sunsoft's Nantettatte Baseball had a "double cassette system" that took option ROMs for roster updates. But in other languages, I agree that it's more likely to refer to a Philips Compact Cassette or a video cassette. Then you get to grandmas who call them "Nintendo tapes" because they slide into a front-loading NES the same way video cassettes slide into a VCR.

"Cassette" as a swear word when surprised, now that's new to me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 416
Cassette == cartridge == cart
I am sorry,My English is not very well.
real machine Like flashing?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Posts: 395
Location: Brasilia, Brazil
tepples wrote:
カセット (pronounced "kasetto") is often used for a game cartridge in Japanese, possibly because of its lack of complex consonant clusters compared to "cartridge". For example, Sunsoft's Nantettatte Baseball had a "double cassette system" that took option ROMs for roster updates. But in other languages, I agree that it's more likely to refer to a Philips Compact Cassette or a video cassette. Then you get to grandmas who call them "Nintendo tapes" because they slide into a front-loading NES the same way video cassettes slide into a VCR.

"Cassette" as a swear word when surprised, now that's new to me.


In Portuguese (and maybe in Spanish too) "cacete" is the word for wooden club.The blunt weapon cavemen used.
Due to it's shape people use it's name as slang for the male reproductive organ or it can also be used in a context meaning the person got beaten up. That word is actually over 200 hundred years old pre-dating Compact Cassettes by a long margin. lol

To be fair, in spoken Portuguese the sound for both words are very similar. Maybe because of that here nobody write "Cassette". "K7" is used instead.


Hopefully this was enlightening.

Edit:
More explanation is due. My bad.
K7 meaning "ka" (how Portuguese speaking people pronounce "k") + "sete" (seven in Portuguese)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Susoft 5a clone?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 416
In China:
Attachment:
20150921133506.jpg
20150921133506.jpg [ 51.67 KiB | Viewed 1527 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group