It is currently Sun Mar 26, 2017 9:50 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:17 pm
Posts: 8
Hey guys.

I tried to make myself a repro of Iron Commando on an 4MB INL board.
It starts and i can choose a character but afterwards, the meteor goes to the down left side and gets stuck.
The music for the first level starts, but it won't load the screen.

I'm using the japanese original ROM. Even tried 2 different sources. Still the same.
uCon says there is no pattern for region fix or crack.
I don't know what to do. :((


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 5417
Location: Seattle
For whatever it's worth, I was handed an Iron Commando (E) reproduction, and it works fine in my US SNES.

I have no idea what's going on.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 8:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:28 pm
Posts: 326
Location: Canada
does that game use mirroring? If so, you may need to "double up" the rom onto itself to fill the 4MB chip.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 4:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:34 pm
Posts: 262
Location: Germany
No, this isn't a NES game and doesn't use any mirroring.

Iron Commando on a cart works fine for me. Already made a PAL repro of it before.
Just not on an INL board though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 8:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:28 pm
Posts: 326
Location: Canada
Ice Man wrote:
No, this isn't a NES game and doesn't use any mirroring.


Actually there are a few SNES games that did use mirroring, I think they were all LoROM games aside from MegaMan X2. But I've run into problems before with INL boards for games like FF5 where the translation makes the rom an odd size, and you have to mirror it and fill the chip otherwise the game crashes after the title screen.

Also had this happen on a King of Demons repro before.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:34 pm
Posts: 262
Location: Germany
That's not mirroring at all but address mapping, which is not the same.

Special chips such as Cx4, SA-1, DSP, S-DD1 has nothing to with mapping but video rendering/graphics compression, etc. Functions that the regular CPU is not capable of.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:17 pm
Posts: 8
ah okay. i try to mirror it in different ways =)

and no its no NES game.
i mean the snes one


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:34 pm
Posts: 262
Location: Germany
You cannot mirror a SNES game.

But what you can do is check the switch for the INL board and see if its set to LoROM or HiROM.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 12:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:06 am
Posts: 16
Location: Houston Texas
Hey Guys!

I'd like to kindly ask you not to repro this game :D

We tracked Mr. Carlo Perconti the developer of Iron Commando and Legend for SNES; and we got the rights to publish the game officially.

We will release a physical version, at a very affordable price in either Cart only or Complete in box version :D.

This will be an official (but unlicensed) release :D

Thanks!

_________________
NES, SNES, Sega Genesis, and GBA Homebrew


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 4906
Location: Canada
Piko wrote:
rights to publish the game officially

...

unlicensed

I think you should clarify what you mean by "unlicensed". The right to publish the game is a license.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 17984
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Perhaps unlicensed in the sense that Bee 52 and Battle Kid and the NES version of Lizard are unlicensed: they are produced without the console maker's cooperation.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:06 am
Posts: 16
Location: Houston Texas
tepples wrote:
Perhaps unlicensed in the sense that Bee 52 and Battle Kid and the NES version of Lizard are unlicensed: they are produced without the console maker's cooperation.


Exactly this.

_________________
NES, SNES, Sega Genesis, and GBA Homebrew


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group