TKROM repro issues

A place that you can discuss reproduction of classic titles or "licensed-for-reproduction" homebrew for personal use.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Forum rules
1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.
Post Reply
flipsc87
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 7:55 pm

TKROM repro issues

Post by flipsc87 » Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:22 pm

ok so i tried to make a Mario in some usual day on a TKROM, i split the roms using famirom onto two 27c2001 eproms. wired it like i would a TLROM. the donor was Base Wars. I did two of them the same way and all i get is a black screen. the rom works fine on my emulator and both donors were tested and cleaned.

Wiring is:
PRG
bend up pins 1,2,24,30,31
pin 2 to hole 24
pin 24 to gnd 16
pin 30 to hole 1

CHR
bend up pins 1,2,22,24,30,31
pin 2 to hole 24
pin 22 to hole 31
pin 24 to hole 2
(tried pin 1 to hole 30)

Ice Man
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:34 pm

Re: TKROM repro issues

Post by Ice Man » Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:55 am

Did you use FamiROM to split the ROM properly into CHR and PRG (eventually expanded them) to be used on a 27c2001?

Mario in some usual day uses 256kb CHR and 256kb PRG.

Some EPROMs need PGM (Pin 31) set to low or high depending on the state. Try connecting it to GND or 5V.
Pin 1 (VPP) can be left untouched and unconnected as it is only used for programming.

Also EPROM Pin 30 of CHR has to be connected to pin 1 of CHR socket anyway.

flipsc87
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: TKROM repro issues

Post by flipsc87 » Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:13 pm

Ice Man wrote:Did you use FamiROM to split the ROM properly into CHR and PRG (eventually expanded them) to be used on a 27c2001?

Mario in some usual day uses 256kb CHR and 256kb PRG.

Some EPROMs need PGM (Pin 31) set to low or high depending on the state. Try connecting it to GND or 5V.
Pin 1 (VPP) can be left untouched and unconnected as it is only used for programming.

Also EPROM Pin 30 of CHR has to be connected to pin 1 of CHR socket anyway.

thanks for the help! so when you say pin 31 set to low or high is that on both prg and chr? i used famirom to split the rom and fill.

Post Reply