It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 12:07 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2016 5:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 3:33 pm
Posts: 33
I am using using this as a donor http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=412. My board looks differnt from image but dont think that matters except my board has all 32 pins for both chips. SLROM-05 MMC1.
Trying to make myself a English translation hack of Battle Stormhttp://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=4305. Using M27C2001 EPROMs. Ive doubled up the chips to be 256k each. Did this wiring and checked for continuity and all seems good so not sure the issue.
One thing Im really curious about is that Battle Storm for PRG is DIP-28. I used 32dip for both. Could that be the issue?
It has sound and intro for a second then freezes. Word "Party" drops down and freezes.
Here is an image(Not blurry just bad photo): Image

Code:
PRG socket:
Bend up pins 1, 2, 24, 30 and 31 (or cut tracks)
Solder pin 2 to hole 24 (A16)
Solder pin 24 to GND (OE)
Solder pin 30 to hole 1 (A17)

CHR socket:
Bend up pins 1, 2, 22, 24, 30 and 31 (or cut tracks)
Solder pin 2 to hole 24 (A16)
Solder pin 22 to hole 31 (CE or CHR /A13)
Solder pin 24 to hole 2 (OE or CHR /RD)



FamiROM:
Code:
Battle StormTr.nes
iNES ver.: 1.0
 platform: NES
   mapper: 1
mirroring: Horizontal
 prg size: 128KB (1mb)
 chr size: 128KB (1mb)
  prg ram: not specified
  battery: no
  trained: no
TV system: NTSC (default)
boards: (SxROM, MMC1 [SKROM, SLROM])
CRC32
      prg: D87CC578
      chr: C2A7855B
     file: 791BC52B


Did notice the rom size is 257KB before the split if that matters. Any info or help would be great. Thanks guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 3:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:34 pm
Posts: 291
Location: Germany
The game is a SKROM. Your donor is a SLROM. No PRG RAM/Battery.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 3:33 pm
Posts: 33
Noob fail. I was thinking all SxROMs work the same back and forth between them. Didnt even think about that RAM chip. Guess ill take the EPROMs out and hopefully be able to salvage the PCB and maybe the chips.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:34 pm
Posts: 291
Location: Germany
Nope, SxROM boards are working different. The MMC1 is connected different in some as well.
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/MMC1_pinout

For reference I always use bootgod what donor I can take.

To check the game's mapper/board I use famirom or the emulators info screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 6:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 471
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
You can try to add W-RAM, using this schematic or this one.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 8:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 3:33 pm
Posts: 33
Thanks I was curious about that! Although detailed schematics like that are confusing for me. I would hate to ruin the donor cart. Cheap donor but still.
There a noob guide to adding a WRAM? Better yet has anyone done it before with photos. It sounds fun even if it was to take a lot of time.
I prefer pinouts in writing over schematics. They are helpful but I see myself getting more confused. I know it will be easier to just use another donor and start over but this could be worth a go.

Edit: Then again Id have to take a WRAM from another donor wouldnt I?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 11:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 9885
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
dude3585 wrote:
Then again Id have to take a WRAM from another donor wouldnt I?

You can also use a CHR-RAM chip from another donor, or get an off-the-shelf RAM chip.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 3:33 pm
Posts: 33
Any CHR-RAM will do?
If anyone can help with the wiring that be awesome. Thanks for all the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 9:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 9885
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
dude3585 wrote:
Any CHR-RAM will do?

Yeah, it's common for carts to use the exact same type of 8KB RAM for CHR-RAM and WRAM. Look at these boards, for example:

http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=1276
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=1255
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=310
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=224
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=703
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=711


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 3:33 pm
Posts: 33
Thanks!
If I could getting a wiring guide or pinout that would be sweet if possible. I am so confused with those schematics. If its not too much trouble. Ill post images once done in case anyone else wants to try for some reason. Know its not practical with this method but could be fun to try. Plus gives me more practice with my soldering.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 471
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
I have done a similar thing before here.
I was adding both W-RAM and CHR-RAM, but I guess you can ignore the CHR-RAM part :-)
By the way, I find text descriptions a bit more confusing/misleading than the pure schematics, but that's me...

Edit: If you have access to old, obsolete PCs, printers, etc. Many of them have SRAMs on it.
In fact, old 486's motherboards used 128kb, 256kb and even 512kb SRAMs as L2 cache.
Usually these ICs were on sockets, what makes really easy to take them out of the board. Just make sure to tie the unused adress lines even to +5v or Gnd.
Many old printers also used 6264 chips as work RAM. In fact, the two I used in this project were from an old Samsung dot matrix printer.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group