Page 1 of 1

SHVC-BJ3M and SHVC-BA3M Carts Repro Questions

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:54 am
by majorspawn
Hi Gents,

I am hoping to get some assistance understanding the wiring on these 2 boards. Any feedback or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

1. I followed the guide by Mmmonkey here:
http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/converting-mo ... ent-140808
and successfully changed a Jap version of Chrono trigger to english which was a 2 mask rom SHVC-BJ3M-20 and wired the TSOP40 adapter to leg 33 to leg 4 of MAD-1, and then leg 2 to MAD-1 leg 13... working well. Question.. Would the same process work on a SHVC-BA3M (Lorom 2 mask rom pcb)?

2. Would it work at all with a 27c801 instead AM29F032B via tsop40? Does it need a different mad-1 connections?
I suppose I want to use a SHVC-BA3M board with a single M27c801 rom like Zelda LTTP or AM29F032B for a 16/24/32 meg games

Thanks in advance
ms

Re: SHVC-BJ3M and SHVC-BA3M Carts Repro Questions

Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 5:42 pm
by majorspawn
anyone please?

Re: SHVC-BJ3M and SHVC-BA3M Carts Repro Questions

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:19 pm
by Markfrizb
majorspawn wrote:anyone please?
BA3M

B= 2 rom cart
A= Lo map (J=Hi map)
3= 64k sram (5=256k, 1=16k)
M= MAD1 chip is used.

The B series cart generally has a 2mb rom and another 1mB rom or smaller.
What would be the roms A21 address is grounded on the B series carts (which is why would had to do jumpers to the mad1 to get the A21 and /OE signals.

So what is your issue?

Re: SHVC-BJ3M and SHVC-BA3M Carts Repro Questions

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:25 pm
by majorspawn
would the procedure outlined by mmmonkey works with the SHVC-BJ3M board? I got it working with a 2/BA3M
if not what change do i have to make?

Re: SHVC-BJ3M and SHVC-BA3M Carts Repro Questions

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:56 pm
by majorspawn
Markfrizb wrote:
majorspawn wrote:anyone please?
BA3M

B= 2 rom cart
A= Lo map (J=Hi map)
3= 64k sram (5=256k, 1=16k)
M= MAD1 chip is used.

The B series cart generally has a 2mb rom and another 1mB rom or smaller.
What would be the roms A21 address is grounded on the B series carts (which is why would had to do jumpers to the mad1 to get the A21 and /OE signals.

So what is your issue?
would the procedure outlined by mmmonkey works with the SHVC-BJ3M board? I got it working with a 2/BA3M
if not what change do i have to make?

Re: SHVC-BJ3M and SHVC-BA3M Carts Repro Questions

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:02 am
by Markfrizb
majorspawn wrote:
Markfrizb wrote:
majorspawn wrote:anyone please?
BA3M

B= 2 rom cart
A= Lo map (J=Hi map)
3= 64k sram (5=256k, 1=16k)
M= MAD1 chip is used.

The B series cart generally has a 2mb rom and another 1mB rom or smaller.
What would be the roms A21 address is grounded on the B series carts (which is why would had to do jumpers to the mad1 to get the A21 and /OE signals.

So what is your issue?
would the procedure outlined by mmmonkey works with the SHVC-BJ3M board? I got it working with a 2/BA3M
if not what change do i have to make?
I'm not sure what your question actually is...

Chrono trigger is a Hi map game. So it won't work on a BA3M cart.

Legend of Zelda is a Lo map game.

Re: SHVC-BJ3M and SHVC-BA3M Carts Repro Questions

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:22 pm
by majorspawn
what i am asking is i use a Ba3m board for a lorom game will the process work when wired the same as per wiring in mmonkeys guide?
same wiring procedure, lorom board, lo rom game

Re: SHVC-BJ3M and SHVC-BA3M Carts Repro Questions

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:02 pm
by Markfrizb
majorspawn wrote:what i am asking is i use a Ba3m board for a lorom game will the process work when wired the same as per wiring in mmonkeys guide?
same wiring procedure, lorom board, lo rom game
I haven't read the Mmonkey wiring and such, but there's no reason why it wouldn't work.... especially if your game is less than 2mbytes and uses 64k sram. Just like chrono trigger, if all the addresses are connected properly -- whether it's by a tsop rom or dip rom -- a Lo rom game should work on a Lo rom cart. If you burn your rom wrong or connect the wiring wrong, then it will not work.