It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:15 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:13 am
Posts: 5
Cannot for life of me seem to get X2 board to work with 29f033c chips with wires and those buyicnow boards. My goal is to have X2 with a "start with armor" game genie patch and i think im very close. I have almost exhausted myself researching this as most of the info i can find people are trying to put together a megaman x2 and x3 board using retrostage super fx converters. I am presuming these boards are just a cleaner and easier option as they all seem to have the same address(?).

I have attempted to get this going by populating both slots on the board with a 27c801 and a 27c101 (1mb + 512kb) and two 27c801 (1mb + 1mb [mirrored?]) and a 29f033c chip as well with some results...

I normally play this patched rom via the superufo pro 8 with my Rockman X2 in the top and every "experiment" ive tried gives me different results. I like to use the superufo's "play cart" option for all my repros as it gives the message "no cartridge" when my soldering is bad.

With the 27c801 it seems to boot but the graphics freeze as a garbled mess of sprites replacing x riding the bike appears and promptly locks up.

I finally got the 29f033c to read as a cart through the super ufo but it locks up DIRECTLY as the capcom logo dissapears. I read that byuu said to patch the rom by changing address #$01 to #$00 but ive no idea how to do that.

The messed up sprites could also be board damage i suppose. Anyone else have any luck with this board? Ideally I would die to have it be x2 & X3 but i have no clue what an "and" gate is or how to wire it up...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:34 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Germany
In order to start Rockman X2 with just one MaskROM instead of 2 either works by hacking the game OR connecting your 29F033 /CE to GND and A21 of 29F033 to the /CE pad on MaskROM0 to control lower and upper bits.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:13 am
Posts: 5
I could not get it to boot that way. Could be because of where ive repaired broken traces or where im grounding /ce from the chip to the board. I did make some progress though. Seems to reliably boot after I hit reset when /ce pad from mask 0 is connected to a20... I broke /oe pad on secondary mask and it only seems to boot when i ground the pin hole for /oe on mask 2...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group