It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:10 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:39 am
Posts: 13
Hi Gents,
I have wired a single M27c801 binswapped (24-->31) running an 8M game with no problems on this board, however I cannot run a game running 2 chips. Can someone please point me in the right direction on how to wire up 2 x 801's please?

Thanks
MS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6296
Location: Seattle
Try looking here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:39 am
Posts: 13
lidnariq wrote:
Try looking here.


thanks for that, very convoluted so I'm not sure where to start. Could you just provide me the wiring instructions? I am not highly technical


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6296
Location: Seattle
If we were willing to just give you wiring instructions, you would have gotten an answer the first time you asked.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:39 am
Posts: 13
lidnariq wrote:
If we were willing to just give you wiring instructions, you would have gotten an answer the first time you asked.


ok thank you. I am hoping that you speak on behalf of yourself as others might be willing to go a bit further. Also I'm not sure why your treating this question as a "trade secret" I obviously can use a 2A3B/3M board etc. I have however a few BA3M boards which I would hate to waste so I want to make best use of these if possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:28 pm
Posts: 337
Location: Canada
majorspawn wrote:

ok thank you. I am hoping that you speak on behalf of yourself as others might be willing to go a bit further. Also I'm not sure why your treating this question as a "trade secret" I obviously can use a 2A3B/3M board etc. I have however a few BA3M boards which I would hate to waste so I want to make best use of these if possible.


It isn't a "trade secret". But this kind of question has been beaten to death on here. If you search this forum you'll find numerous other people who made accounts simply to learn how to make repros/bootlegs, and then vanish. Don't take it personally, but people here for the most part are tired of the "I have no experience, please tell me how to make this $$$ game work". If you do a bit of research, videos/tutorials of people showcasing how to make repros are everywhere. Just look over at the racketboy forum to find a bunch of info there.

If you want to learn, then research. Practice. Experiment.

Alternatively, there are people who make and sell boards so that donor carts are not needed at all: http://www.infiniteneslives.com or http://www.retrostage.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:39 am
Posts: 13
getafixx wrote:
majorspawn wrote:

ok thank you. I am hoping that you speak on behalf of yourself as others might be willing to go a bit further. Also I'm not sure why your treating this question as a "trade secret" I obviously can use a 2A3B/3M board etc. I have however a few BA3M boards which I would hate to waste so I want to make best use of these if possible.


It isn't a "trade secret". But this kind of question has been beaten to death on here. If you search this forum you'll find numerous other people who made accounts simply to learn how to make repros/bootlegs, and then vanish. Don't take it personally, but people here for the most part are tired of the "I have no experience, please tell me how to make this $$$ game work". If you do a bit of research, videos/tutorials of people showcasing how to make repros are everywhere. Just look over at the racketboy forum to find a bunch of info there.

If you want to learn, then research. Practice. Experiment.

Alternatively, there are people who make and sell boards so that donor carts are not needed at all: http://www.infiniteneslives.com or http://www.retrostage.net


I have searched and also found this before and your reply
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php? ... 9&start=75

"The reason it doesnt work is you wired it all messed up.

You only need to jumper 2 wires from each chip. Pin 31 goes to hole 26, and pin 24 goes to hole 33. You do this for each chip.

The MAD-1 is left completely alone"

can you at least clarify your comments;
where does pin 26, hole 24/31 go? these seem to be abandoned and not used if i follow your comments above
thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:17 am
Posts: 483
Location: East Texas
Getafix (aka retrostage) is right. These questions have been asked many times before. This group is more about --- do your research and while we (this group) won't just hand out an answer, but will do is push you in the right direction so that you can learn what you want to know and maybe get confirmation on your questions at that point.

Without tooting my own horn, there are other new repo pcb boards avail than just those mentioned in the prev post.
Good luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 3:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 540
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Basically what you need is a demux, just like this one.
It will enable or disable the memory chips according to the address on the input.
If you have a MAD chip onboard you probably already have it.
Just think a little. the information that was give here is enough, you just need to look at it carefully.
If you have some more doubts about the circuit I'm sure people here can help.

Sincerelly, I think combinational logic should be teached at school.
It took me a long time to (kind of) learn it... the teachers on the technician course didn't know it very well. Damm!! Even hexadecimal numbering was considered a thing of another world!!
I ended learning the basics of it at university, on the architecture "chair" (I don't know how the parts of a university course are called, so I'm using the word "chair" that is what it's called here...).
I ended up learning a lot more here in the forums. But still there's a huge amount of things i need/want to learn!

Good luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group