How to make multicartes a particular program to use or a way

A place that you can discuss reproduction of classic titles or "licensed-for-reproduction" homebrew for personal use.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Forum rules
1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.
krug stillo

How to make multicartes a particular program to use or a way

Post by krug stillo »

I'm fairly new to reproductions I've managed to make a few for SNES and a few for NES just so I can play games I don't own on a cartridge I use the kazzo inl device and it works great I assume there's got to be a way to use it for multicart Creations whether it's a particular program or just the way to bundle ROMs and then use the flashing program I use already. if somebody can help me that would be awesome I think anyone will responds ahead of time
tepples

Re: How to make multicartes a particular program to use or a

Post by tepples »

Man, is that a run-on sentence.

It depends on which games you want to include, in particular how big they are and what mapper they use. If all the games use simple mappers (NROM, CNROM, UNROM/UOROM, AMROM/ANROM/AOROM, BNROM), you could use a mapper 28 cartridge with the Action 53 engine.
Fisher

Post by Fisher »

For me, the easiest multicart to do is a reset based.
You can take a look on the one I've donte here.
It's simple, just split the PRG and CHR of the 2 (or 4) games you want, them copy all the PRGs to a single file, do the same with the CHRs, paying attention to the sequence you used.
Next use the circuit of the thread I pointed, with the output on the upper address bus pins of the ROMs.

You're limited to do multicarts with games that use the same mapper with this.
It's possible to do really nice ones with menus as Farid did here.