It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:35 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 12:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:17 pm
Posts: 303
I know you can convert an Unrom/Mapper 7 cart (7 - 74HC32). I am attemping to make a Goonies 1 cart. But the problem is, There is both a PRG AND CHR file with this, but the AOROM conversion only talks about the PRG chip slot. Any clues? Thanks Bunches.


Last edited by Tormenter on Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:13 pm
Posts: 1668
AOROM which is mapper 7 doesn't have a 7432 (OR gate) because it has no static bank.

Goonies 1 is a CNROM in the US AFAIK

AOROM doesn't have CHR ROM, it has CHR RAM.


To convert a UNROM (must be 128kb) to AOROM (must be 256kb) you must simulate a static bank by dividing the game into 16kb blocks and append the last bank (bank 7) to each of the banks including bank 7. The file size should be 256kb. You must then modify the AOROM board by cutting the line from D4 of the 74161 and solder that line (VRAM A10) to CHR A10 if it has vertical mirroring (horizontal scrolling) or CHR A11 if it has horizontal mirroring (vertical scrolling)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:17 pm
Posts: 303
kyuusaku wrote:
To convert a UNROM (must be 128kb) to AOROM (must be 256kb) you must simulate a static bank by dividing the game into 16kb blocks and append the last bank (bank 7) to each of the banks including bank 7. The file size should be 256kb.




.....you lost me. lol Im not that technical into these type of things.

The PRG is 32k, and the CHR is 16k.


So I would use the CNROM board then correct? Even though it says goonies is "Memory Mapper: 7 - 74HC32?"

And CNROMS require no modifications per http://nesdev.com/NES%20EPROM% ... rsions.txt

Even though it states CNROM is mapper 3? Im confused lol. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:13 pm
Posts: 1668
Who said Goonies was mapper 7? and who said mapper 7 even had a 7432? Mapper 2 (UOROM) has a 7432 and 74161, mapper 7 only has a 74161.

Yes Goonies is CNROM aka mapper 3. That's right, you won't need to modify the board in any way, just swap out the ROMs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:17 pm
Posts: 303
This is what it says in cajoNES anyways. (or the rom I have is) Is this not a correct one?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:17 pm
Posts: 303
found another copy that says 3 - VROM switch ???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3596
Location: Indianapolis
Tormenter wrote:
found another copy that says 3 - VROM switch ???


That's the one you want, then. Wow, "VROM Switch", haven't seen that term in a while. I think that's what NESticle called mapper #3 (CNROM).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7600
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
The first Goonies game has been only released in Japan officially, using a discrete logic maper made by Konami, similar to CNROM, but using its register in $6000 range instead of $8000-$ffff

There is a hack of it using mapper 3 floating arround, that avoid bus conflicts correctly, so it can be used on a real mapper 3 hardware.

_________________
Life is complex: it has both real and imaginary components.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:17 pm
Posts: 303
Would it matter if it was a CNROM-256-05 (Tiger Heli) or a CNROM-06 (Back to the Future) or is there a difference??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 10:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7600
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Look yourself for differences. Normally there shouldn't be much difference, but the solder pads can be different for mirroring and PRG/CHR repeating.

_________________
Life is complex: it has both real and imaginary components.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 5:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:17 pm
Posts: 303
Bregalad wrote:
Look yourself for differences.


I tried, hince, thats why I am asking. Im not a techie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 1:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7600
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Well, you don't need to be that much technical. Just look the PCB and notice what is different on them. Sometimes there is minor details, such as additionnal capacitors or resitsorts that have some noise-immunity issues, or solder pads that are different (this is significant for Name Table mirroring). Other than that, most difference between PCB variants are unsignificant.

_________________
Life is complex: it has both real and imaginary components.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Haruka and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group