Susoft 5a clone?

A place that you can discuss reproduction of classic titles or "licensed-for-reproduction" homebrew for personal use.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Forum rules
1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.
User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Susoft 5a clone?

Post by Fisher » Fri Sep 18, 2015 4:30 pm

Hello!
I've got a very cheap Batman cartridge to try to make an MMC3 repro on it.
When I opened it, instead of MMC3 clone I found this 23c269 and some more chips (glue logic?).
Could this be a pirate Sunsoft 5a clone?
The stage 1 and 2 music are swapped, just as said happens on the japanese game.
I found that the game slows down a lot more than I remember.
Does this happen on the original Batman J?
Does someone have information about this clone?
Could I do a repro of Batman 2 or Mr Gimmick with this board?
Thanks in advance!!
Attachments
Batman j Pirata.png

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by l_oliveira » Fri Sep 18, 2015 8:49 pm

Dump the ROMs and try to load them on a emulator. If they work as a mapper 69 .nes file then you might have it work for what you want.

But considering it's a NTDEC cartridge it could be a "customized" mapper and your game is hacked to run on a different mapper. If you try what I suggested above and it doesn't work that's the likely cause.

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by Fisher » Sat Sep 19, 2015 7:45 am

Looks like it's a custom mapper :-(
This explains the slowdown!!
Could be possible to hack the games to use it?
I think not, I have no idea where are the SRAM control pins and PRG/CHR A17...
I have compared both PRG files, first half is almost identical, but the second half is almost all different.
I'm putting the ROMs here, just if someone is interested.
Should I disassemble the board, scan it and share the scans?
Thanks in advance.
Attachments
BAT_NTD.PRG
Pirate Batman J PRG
(128 KiB) Downloaded 666 times
BAT_NTD.CHR
Pirate Batman J CHR
(128 KiB) Downloaded 677 times

Joe
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by Joe » Sat Sep 19, 2015 8:30 am

Fisher wrote:I have compared both PRG files, first half is almost identical, but the second half is almost all different.
I'm putting the ROMs here, just if someone is interested.
These are bad dumps! It looks like A16 wasn't connected properly.
Fisher wrote:Should I disassemble the board, scan it and share the scans?
Good documentation is always appreciated. Of course, it's up to you - you're the one who would have to put it back together to re-use it!

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by Fisher » Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:16 am

I'll redump it later... Thanks to pointing this!
Looks like A16 is in /OE, I thought my "dumper" would notice this...
I think will be better to wire the pin to the top of the slot, or is better to dump it twice, once with A16 low and after with A16 high?
If a scan of the board will help the community to better understand the mapper (or the new mapper), count on it!! It's a little effort to help make emulation better!!

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by Fisher » Sat Sep 19, 2015 1:56 pm

Redumped!
Have pulled a wire to pin2 from /OE on both ROMs at the 32 pin socket, got very different results!!
CHR's md5sum is the same as the original. I'll assume they're the same. Not posting here.
PRG is very different. Still no luck running them on an emulator :-(
Nestopia only gives me a noise. Both FCEUltra and Mednafen just quit!
Maybe I messed up and fried the PRG? Is it still a bad dump?
I'm thinking in flashing the original PRG on a FlashROM and test if it works.
Have scanned both sides of the board. Hope it helps someone, specially me :-)
It's 600dpi. Although only 8bpp... Is this enough?
Looking quickly I saw 4 unused pins... maybe they're the SRAM control pins and PRG/CHR A17, just have no idea of how to find who is who :-(
Again, many thanks!! I'm learning a ton and having lots of fun too!!
Attachments
BAT-NTD.PRG
Pirate Batman J PRG
(128 KiB) Downloaded 640 times
Pirate Batman J component side
Pirate Batman J component side
Pirate Batman J solder side
Pirate Batman J solder side

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by l_oliveira » Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:19 pm

The chip on your cart is a VRC2 clone.

The game plays fine as mapper 23.

edit: Well, not so fine due to the extra logic chips on the board as it uses them to extend the mapper capabilities. Graphics glitch slightly without the extra chips.

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by Fisher » Sat Sep 19, 2015 3:22 pm

Cool!!
So, I can do a Contra J repro with this Batman!!
Any idea of what to do with the added logic??
What about the mapper pinout?? Is it similar to the VRC2?
Many thanks!!

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by l_oliveira » Sat Sep 19, 2015 3:27 pm

You likely will have to mod the board heavily...

I can't really help you with that part. :)

But I am sure you will learn a lot about this from doing it.

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by Fisher » Sat Sep 19, 2015 3:42 pm

Took a quick look at the the pinouts, seems just like this one:
http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/VRC2_pinout
Gotta check all the pins to have sure, if it's consistent, I'll have the guidelines to mod.
Now I need to leave, real life is calling!!
Many thanks!! That was great!!

Joe
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by Joe » Sun Sep 20, 2015 2:00 am

Fisher wrote:CHR's md5sum is the same as the original. I'll assume they're the same. Not posting here.
That means the CHR is still a bad dump...

Now that I have a good dump of the PRG and very nice scans of the PCB, I can start to analyze the mapper.

zxbdragon
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by zxbdragon » Sun Sep 20, 2015 4:25 am

Joe wrote:
Fisher wrote:CHR's md5sum is the same as the original. I'll assume they're the same. Not posting here.
That means the CHR is still a bad dump...

Now that I have a good dump of the PRG and very nice scans of the PCB, I can start to analyze the mapper.

VRC4,MAPPER25
but F000-F003 is IRQ change.

zxbdragon
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by zxbdragon » Sun Sep 20, 2015 4:54 am

Real machine, Is the blood flashing?

Joe
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by Joe » Sun Sep 20, 2015 6:44 am

The mapper is your standard pirate VRC2-with-IRQ board, using VRC2b wiring.

The IRQ circuit uses two counters, one that counts 2048(?) cycles of M2, and another that counts a programmable multiple, up to 16(?), of that 2048 cycles and generates an IRQ. The control registers are mapped to $F000, $F001, and $F003 (mask $F003). Writes to $F000 halt and clear the 2048-step counter, halt the 16-step counter, and acknowledge the IRQ. Writes to $F001 start both counters. The high four bits of writes to $F003 will be loaded into the 16-step counter.

I'm not sure if it's just the pictures, but I don't see anything connected to 74191 pin 5. The connection to that pin controls the direction of the 16-step counter, but I'm not sure what it will do if it's not connected at all...

I'll see if I can draw some schematics for this, so others can more easily follow the IRQ circuit.

Joe
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Susoft 5a clone?

Post by Joe » Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:44 am

Done!

I wonder if there's already a mapper number assigned for this configuration.
Attachments
batman pirate irq.png

Post Reply