triying to make a rockman 6 unique harassment!

A place that you can discuss reproduction of classic titles or "licensed-for-reproduction" homebrew for personal use.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Forum rules
1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.
Post Reply
BokuNES
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 8:42 pm

triying to make a rockman 6 unique harassment!

Post by BokuNES » Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:05 pm

hi to all, again, i have a problem, so i triying to make this rockman hack, i use a HVC-TGROM-01, the hack uses a 4megabit eprom, i use a 27c4001, i programmed and solder all the parts, the game starts fine, but when i enter the boss selection, the graphics seems to be glitched, the game freezes when i try to enter to a stage, i triyed to change the eprom: FAILS, change the sram: FAILS, change the mmc3: FAILS, so i dont know whats the problem!!!, please can you help me???, here i have some photos

https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArFuBF31X5b5m1aTz25 ... 1?e=RmKeyA the boss is missing here

https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArFuBF31X5b5m1PNvnE ... C?e=apz0Cj the logo seems to be cut in half!

https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArFuBF31X5b5m1TdtF3 ... G?e=wUxgrW the most beautifull mega man you will see in your life

https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArFuBF31X5b5m1XiX_0 ... n?e=5MeFIh the board

i hope you can help me!

krzysiobal
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Location: Poland

Re: triying to make a rockman 6 unique harassment!

Post by krzysiobal » Fri Nov 20, 2020 12:27 am

Sprites are not displayed at all. This game uses $0000-$0fff for background tiles and $1000-$1fff for sprites, so PPU-A12 is used for distinguishion. But if there was problem with that line, garbage tiles would be displayed instead of sprites, not empty ones.

IRQ - not used in boss selection screen..

Do other games work correctly? Looks like PPU is broken.
spr.png
---


LOL, I've just filled first 64kB of its PRG-ROM with zeros and got the same effect like you. Looks like game stores all its tiles in uncompressed form here.
Check if you wired correctly PRG-A16 as EPROM and PRG-ROM pinouts are different (PRG-A16 vs PRG-/OE, etc). I don't see any wires in your PCB photo so looks like you've just soldered EPROM in place of the original MASK ROM.
http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Mask_ROM_pinout

BokuNES
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 8:42 pm

Re: triying to make a rockman 6 unique harassment!

Post by BokuNES » Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:45 am

hello, thanks for the reply
I don't see any wires in your PCB photo so looks like you've just soldered EPROM in place of the original MASK ROM.
nono, the wires are under the eprom (i like more this, it looks aesthetically better).
Check if you wired correctly PRG-A16 as EPROM and PRG-ROM pinouts are different (PRG-A16 vs PRG-/OE, etc).
i connected following a tutorial, EPROM-A16 to hole 24 and EPROM-/OE to GND

Post Reply