It is currently Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:01 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:01 pm
Posts: 83
why don't you buy the bit to open the carts up? They're less than 3$ on eBay. Like this you won't be killing the covers every time. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 85
I bought it today but i didn't want to ''wait to unsolder ect''

I always try to do the more i can in 1 shot :)


What is the chips needed for the MMC1 ?
So maybe futurelec can ship it in the same order since it's not shipped out yet.


PS: i just check my order with FUTURLEC

My eprom order was Wrong
I got 32 pin ones......
wich was 4.50$
the 28 pin one are 6.50$

the ones needed at atmel (flash 256k 28 pin dip)
+ i email them saying if it isn't too late i will take 512k aswell.

On the website it didn't mention that my order was shipped yet (thank god)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 6:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 85
this is what i ordered i think .......

http://www.futurlec.com/cgi-bin/search/ ... o=AT29C256

I posted it the day i bought them i think...

I am 90% sure it's not the right chip....

+ just looked they are not in stock so.... Great my order must of not been shipped^^


so what i need for the MMC1 is
1 AT29C512 512k 120ns CMOS Flash Memory
& 1 AT29C256 256k 120ns CMOS Flash Memory

& the the Excitebike i will need 2x AT29C256 256k 120ns CMOS Flash Memory

Is it right??

but the AT29C256 256k 120ns CMOS Flash Memory are not in stock.... grr...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3509
Location: Indianapolis
hayabusafmw wrote:
this is what i ordered i think .......

http://www.futurlec.com/cgi-bin/search/ ... o=AT29C256

I posted it the day i bought them i think...

I am 90% sure it's not the right chip....


Weird.. it says it's 32-pin DIP on there. I can't even find that page you linked to, just this (the correct, apparently out of stock one - http://www.futurlec.com/Memory/AT29C256pr.shtml

I looked on http://findchips.com/ and there are a couple obscure suppliers that seem to have them. Never ordered from them before, but something you could try if you want. BTW, you want the one ending in PC (DIP), not JC (PLCC).

Quote:
so what i need for the MMC1 is
1 AT29C512 512k 120ns CMOS Flash Memory
& 1 AT29C256 256k 120ns CMOS Flash Memory


No, those are kilobits. 512kbits = 64kbytes. You want 512kbytes, the 29F040 (or 29C040, same thing). If you order from them BTW, you might want to get the Atmel type. Someone here on the forum ordered the '020 AMD type and got sent some "PMC" brand chips that the Willem programmer won't support.. he sent me a couple and I couldn't get them to burn either. I guess because AMD doesn't make '020 FlashROMs, heh.

I could sell you a couple brand new AM29F040B-120PC chips if you want, for $6 each + shipping. A 512kB chip can replace a 256kB and 128kB chip too, BTW. Just wire the unused pin(s) to GND or VCC if needed.

Quote:
but the AT29C256 256k 120ns CMOS Flash Memory are not in stock.... grr...


Yeah, that sucks. It's apparantly a very hard to find chip. Kinda surprising, considering how nice it is for replacing a 32kB EPROM. EPROM is definitely going out of style.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 85
thanks i pmed you



But maybe eprom like those (28 pins ) are going to desapear?
maybe the demand isn't there anymore thats why only 2 site have them....



thats sucks that they are that hard to find since it's needed for nes carts:S


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 85
found some supplier

that sales AT29C256 & AT29C512

but minimum order 50$
free shipping + free sockets.

I will give it a try

they said they have VERY many in stock

& i also saw some other site saying they had like 160 000 atmel in stock...thats like crazy .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 85
today i found an old Game board i had laying here

It had several maybe 8 to 12 28 pins Eproms.... it fits in the nes pcb


I just wanna check if they can be UV erasable if so i will buy a darng uv eraser so i won't have any more trouble finding chips

it's written on the eprom

S 27c256 -20 fa

& some other i took from the same board is written underneath it

JL2764hs/048002 singapore 17

Let me know ^^


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:32 am
Posts: 150
Location: Toronto
If you want UV erasable EPROM's I might be able to send you some.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:12 am
Posts: 126
Location: PA, USA
hayabusafmw wrote:
today i found an old Game board i had laying here

It had several maybe 8 to 12 28 pins Eproms.... it fits in the nes pcb


what game board? is it dumped? what was it?

be sure you back up whatever it was if it was anything valuable.

Lord Nightmare

_________________
"When life gives you zombies... *CHA-CHIK!* ...you make zombie-ade!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 85
I bought the UV erasable chip today from a contact near where i live
^_^
he has all UV eprom for cheap



About the PCB
Nah i didn't dump it didn't need i don't care about it it was a dead board but the eproms are still good im pretty sure.

I just dunno if they would be Compatible

ill know once i get my eprom eraser..


Now i need to learn how to split the game files manually


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 85
Im still trying to Figure out how to Rip the games properly using Cajo nes.....


I didn't do fine with ''megaman 2 , megaman 1 ,''
all i was able to do is with ninja gaiden ,


I don'T know what i am doing wrong

even contra doesn't work ..



(i will receive my chips + burner this week i beleive so i need to get those file s ready & learn)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10420
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
The other day I was in a rush, so I didn't have the time to get any tools or set them up, so I got the PRG from an UNROM (would work for any games using CHR-RAM, as is the case with the ones you mentioned) using DOS "EDIT".

It works, and for games that only have PRG ROM it's really easy. Just go to the command prompt and type "EDIT /80" to enter edit in binary mode. Open your ROM and make sure the cursor is over the first character of the first row (will only work if the beginning of the first row says "NES"). Now, hit "Delete" on your keyboard 16 times, to get rid of the iNES header.

What remains should be the PRG data. Save it now woth another name, such as "prg.bin", and check if the new file has the correct size. A 128KB game should have 131072 bytes, a 256KB game should have 262144 bytes - EXACTLY!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group