It is currently Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:44 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:27 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Brazil
Hello all. :)

Firstly, I would like to say that english is not my natural language. So, sorry my future mistakes. :)

I'm purchasing a copy of an original japanese Final Fantasy 3 60pins, and, with it in hands, I will try burn an eprom with the translated ROM for my own use.

I've noticed there is no CHR ROM, only a 512KiB PRG ROM (32 x 16KiB).

I was wondering two things:

1 - The only eprom I will need to burn is that PRG? The others 2 (of 3) chips on the original board doesn't need to be removed?

2 - Anyone knows about REWIRING on this board? I will probably need to do this, right? On Nesdev I just found how to rewiring "TKROM -> TNROM conversion (mapper 4)". I know that FF3 uses TNROM, it's the right conversion?


I will put the PCB scan here too: http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/image.php?ImageID=3830

Thank you very much.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 8:00 am
Posts: 354
You will only need one EPROM, which will be for PRG (512KB). That TKROM -> TNROM guide should tell you how to rewire the PRG connections for the EPROM (I think it's the same whether you're using a TKROM or a TNROM board - someone can correct me if I'm wrong). Do not do anything with CHR - those modifications are only necessary if you're using a TKROM board.

_________________
"Last version was better," says Floyd. "More bugs. Bugs make game fun."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:28 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 4108
That bootgod site has lots of falsified PCB scans, the most obvious fake is their Super Mario Bros/Duck Hunt PCB. Where's the glop tops? Real version here.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:44 pm
Posts: 449
Location: CA
That isn't fake, its just a different (earlier?) PCB version. Only SMB/DH used the MHROM board, and only SMB/DH has the MH product code on the prg/chr.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:27 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Brazil
So, I will just need to do this?

TKROM -> TNROM conversion (mapper 4):
PRG socket:
Bend up pins 1, 2, 24, 30 and 31 (or cut tracks 2, 24, 30 and 31)
Solder pin 2 to hole 24 (A16)
Solder pin 24 to GND (OE)
Solder pin 30 to hole 1 (A17)
Solder pin 31 to hole 2 (A18)



About those Nintendo boards with a "black drop" instead ROM chips, it's very strange. Some japanese versions uses this, if you look at Donkey Kong for Famicom (probably the first Famicom game), you can see it uses that "black drop" too.

But I think there's no (huge) variantions of Final Fantasy 3 (J). I don't have the copy of FF3 in hands yet, but probably will be the same (I hope).


Thanks.
:)

If I get this works, will post pictures later. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:14 pm
Posts: 357
Dwedit wrote:
That bootgod site has lots of falsified PCB scans, the most obvious fake is their Super Mario Bros/Duck Hunt PCB. Where's the glop tops? Real version here.


That is one of the oddest comments I've ever heard :) You can see an example of the epoxy board here.

The epoxy board seems to be the most common, but they actually made a whopping 5 revisions of the "standard" board as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:24 am
Posts: 330
If epoxy boards are cheaper, why not use them for all games?

What I thought was even weirder was early versions of Starfox were epoxy boards, but then the later versions were chip based. Wouldn't that make it more expensive to make?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20891
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
drk421 wrote:
If epoxy boards are cheaper, why not use them for all games?

I would imagine that the cost tradeoff for epoxy boards differs depending on the production volume. A pack-in like SMB1/Duck Hunt was made in such large volumes that the cost saved by switching away from DIP made up for the added expense of setting up a glop-top production run.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 7:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 1:30 am
Posts: 3
Location: Warsaw, Poland
I am giving u link to my gallery. When my buddy was making FF3Eng from my Rockman 4 (pirate). Maybe it will help with making FF3 :)
http://s9.photobucket.com/albums/a69/rocketzapdos/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group