It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:28 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 535
Location: United States
Sorry if this has been covered somewhere, but I can't seem to find this information anywhere. Both repro sites don't even have this reproduction available anymore (or am I just hallucinating?).

Was there ever a Gradius II repro, & if so, what mapper did it use?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:04 pm
Posts: 2129
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
You could try finding the ROM and seeing with an emulator which mapper it uses. It's just an idea...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19096
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Jedi QuestMaster wrote:
Both repro sites don't even have this reproduction available anymore (or am I just hallucinating?).

A takedown order from Konami was likely, especially given that Konami might be preparing it for a release on Virtual Console.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:44 pm
Posts: 449
Location: CA
Gradius 2 (jp) is iNES 25, which is a VRC 4 version. With 8x 1KB chr swapping its not likely someone has put it on a USA mapper like MMC3.

As far as I know, no companies have contacted the repro makers. You would think Nintendo would to protect their IP like Zelda (Outlands) and Mario (SMB2j).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:13 pm
Posts: 1667
Location: .ma.us
Lots of 8 x 1K mapper games swap in 4K or even 8K chunks however, so it may be possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:44 pm
Posts: 449
Location: CA
After taking a very quick look at it playing, I think the 1KB swapping is happening only at banks 5 and 6 ($1400/$1800) so hacking for mmc3 looks possible. The rest is 4 or 8KB swapping. Theres 128KB chr so expanding to 256 and duplicating some banks could get around other swapping problems. I would guess the background half doesn't get swapped in sections.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 6:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 535
Location: United States
Okay, thanks. I thought there must've been a reproduction made since I saw a custom label (was it Jeremy Red?); I can't find the site anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 30
I've never been able to find a working ROM (much less the original IPS patch) of this hack. It honestly might be an aborted project.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:20 pm
Posts: 284
You could certainly get the FC board and put it in a Gyromite style adapter and put it in a NES case with a fancy label. ;)

-Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2799
It'd be neat to see a MMC3 hack of it since the PowerPAK doesn't do VRC games. Is there anywhere that details any of these hacks that change what mapper games use? I know there have been other games that were hacked like that EarthWorm Jim pirate.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:13 pm
Posts: 1667
Location: .ma.us
My PowerPak does VRC games albeit I still had to hack them since bus-capacitance gets eaten on the PowerPak setting off copy-protection.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Louisville, KY
Jedi QuestMaster wrote:
Sorry if this has been covered somewhere, but I can't seem to find this information anywhere. Both repro sites don't even have this reproduction available anymore (or am I just hallucinating?).

Was there ever a Gradius II repro, & if so, what mapper did it use?



I run GameReproductions.com .... I have never had this game for sale....I dont remember offhand, but I think it used a fami only mapper from what I remember.


And correct, Jeremy Red made a label for it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 12:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2799
kyuusaku wrote:
My PowerPak does VRC games albeit I still had to hack them since bus-capacitance gets eaten on the PowerPak setting off copy-protection.


Did you make your own mapper config file or was support added recently? Last I checked there was no official support. ='(

By the way, I found a Gradius II hack that runs with MMC3. The game plays, but graphics are messed up. Pretty much all sprites are wrong, the windowing of the ship background on the title is wrong, etc. Not exactly repro worthy. ;p


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7230
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
I bet it's possible to hack it to MMC3 quite easily in fact. It shouldn't be too complicated. Maybe doubling CHR to 256 KB is needed, but there is chances that it's not.
If you want to still have it being 128/128 and use a U.S. mapper one could have it hacked to FME-7, which has supperior banking abilities than any VRC mapper I know. There isn't many FME-7 carts available however.

EDIT : I could try to do it if someone wants a MMC3 version but I'd need proper VRC4 doccumentation somewhere, and I cannot find any. It seems like Gradius 2 relies on CPU clock IRQs, which wouldn't be very easy (but still possible) to turn into MMC3 IRQs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2799
I forgot to mention, the Gradius 2 hack I found uses a Trainer so for real hardware it's probably worthless unless you put it in a save file to load with the rom on a powerpak maybe.

If you need VRC info, go here: http://nesdevwiki.org/

Getting the game to "run" is probably easy, but I'm guessing any IRQ or CHR banking will take a bit more effort. But I agree I think a MMC3 conversion is possible and I think that would be pretty sweet. Ofcourse I'd also love to see a Contra (J) conversion to MMC3, because the VRC2b version kicked the ass of the UNROM version.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group