Mario Adventure ( SMB3 Hack ) on real Hardware !!

A place that you can discuss reproduction of classic titles or "licensed-for-reproduction" homebrew for personal use.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Forum rules
1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.
User avatar
infiniteneslives
Posts: 2100
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:49 am
Location: WhereverIparkIt, USA
Contact:

Post by infiniteneslives » Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:34 pm

ocdgamer wrote:It seems like the board that works for this game is TSROM with a battery add on, but my emulator says that the game with the padded ips is a TKROM with battery. Would that work with Shadowgate or Deja Vu then?
I don't know about those games specifically, but the only difference between TSROM and TKROM is battery backing as far as I'm aware. So by adding the battery backing to TSROM you've converted it to TKROM.

User avatar
marvelus10
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 5:01 pm
Location: Nanaimo, BC Canada

Post by marvelus10 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:21 pm

infiniteneslives wrote:
ocdgamer wrote:It seems like the board that works for this game is TSROM with a battery add on, but my emulator says that the game with the padded ips is a TKROM with battery. Would that work with Shadowgate or Deja Vu then?
I don't know about those games specifically, but the only difference between TSROM and TKROM is battery backing as far as I'm aware. So by adding the battery backing to TSROM you've converted it to TKROM.

I have tried to make this game on both TK and TS rom boards before the awal ips patch came out. Using a different ram chip I was able to get it to work on TS-ROM no problems, however I could only get it to work on one TK-ROM board the others failed, I have no idea why. These are the boards used :
TS-ROM-03 = Nintendo MMC3A 8850KP - worked fine
TK-ROM-01 = Nintendo MMC3B 9007KP049 - worked fine
TK-ROM-01 = Nintendo MMC3B S 9002 3 T - black screen perfect sound no controller reaction

Now I have not had the opportunity to try this new ips patched version on either when I get the chance I will follow up on this thread.

ocdgamer
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:08 am

Post by ocdgamer » Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:11 pm

Great thanks for the info. I'm going to try it with a tkrom now as well. Tecmo NBA Basketball. We'll see I guess.

User avatar
jpx72
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:27 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by jpx72 » Mon Jan 02, 2012 1:46 pm

infiniteneslives wrote:
ocdgamer wrote:Does anyone have an active link to the .ips that has the combined fixes a few posts up??
I've got it here: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18341918/Mario% ... 0Patch.zip
I have recreated this hack on a TKROM cartridge (battery backed HVC-TKROM-02 with 8kb WRAM and MMC3B) but I'm getting those weird graphical glitches on my Famicom. I patched the PRG1 rom with the provided IPS but I have read in this topic that some extra hardware stuff must be added to make this work. Can somebody tell me what that is? Please?

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Post by l_oliveira » Mon Jan 02, 2012 3:35 pm

jpx72 wrote: I have recreated this hack on a TKROM cartridge (battery backed HVC-TKROM-02 with 8kb WRAM and MMC3B) but I'm getting those weird graphical glitches on my Famicom. I patched the PRG1 rom with the provided IPS but I have read in this topic that some extra hardware stuff must be added to make this work. Can somebody tell me what that is? Please?
The hack is poorly coded. It does not check if the RAM contents are invalid and load it anyway.

Try clearing the backup ram using the command on the rom readme and it will "automagically" start to work properly...

User avatar
jpx72
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:27 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by jpx72 » Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:06 pm

Thanks a lot! That was automagic!!!

User avatar
l_oliveira
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Location: Brasilia, Brazil

Post by l_oliveira » Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:09 pm

I also think the problem reported by marvelous10 a few posts ago is related to poorly coded SRAM handling code. -_-;

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2281
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Post by 3gengames » Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:16 pm

To make it easier for those who don't have a patch I can whip up an NES-SRAM clearing program that sits in RAM from your powerpak or something if you'd like so you can clear it if you have the non-patched version on a cart. The game doesn't need it cleared more than once, right? It doesn't throw any bad values in there once it's cleared?

User avatar
nintendo2600
Posts: 356
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:40 pm

Post by nintendo2600 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 8:10 pm

Image

So is this correct for adding the battery or am I incorrect\missing something?

User avatar
infiniteneslives
Posts: 2100
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:49 am
Location: WhereverIparkIt, USA
Contact:

Post by infiniteneslives » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:02 pm

nintendo2600 wrote:Image

So is this correct for adding the battery or am I incorrect\missing something?
The way you connect your 22uF cap is kind of ambiguous in the picture. It looks like you're trying to put it in series with the SRAM and diodes, which would be wrong.

You basically want the SRAM Vcc pin, the 22uF (+) pin, and anode of the two diodes to all be connected in the same point. The other leg of the cap goes to ground.

Basically if you took the cap out of your picture and redrew it between the GND and Vcc on the SRAM you'd be good.

User avatar
nintendo2600
Posts: 356
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:40 pm

Post by nintendo2600 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:45 pm

infiniteneslives wrote:
nintendo2600 wrote:Image
So like this you mean?

Image

flagoss
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 8:44 pm

Post by flagoss » Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:17 am

Both diodes are wrong way. They should prevent you from powering the NES with the battery and preventing the battery to receive current from the NES !! On your draft, the diode block the current to go from the battery to the SRAM and also block the current to go from the NES to the sram ! That should be the oposite !

User avatar
nintendo2600
Posts: 356
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:40 pm

Post by nintendo2600 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 1:16 am

flagoss wrote:Both diodes are wrong way. They should prevent you from powering the NES with the battery and preventing the battery to receive current from the NES !! On your draft, the diode block the current to go from the battery to the SRAM and also block the current to go from the NES to the sram ! That should be the oposite !
OK I'll switch that on the next shematic. I'm gonna do a little more than a quick MSpaint job when I get it final. Thanks for the help! :)

User avatar
infiniteneslives
Posts: 2100
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:49 am
Location: WhereverIparkIt, USA
Contact:

Post by infiniteneslives » Mon Jan 16, 2012 1:47 am

nintendo2600 wrote: So like this you mean?
Yeah and with the diode note :)

User avatar
nintendo2600
Posts: 356
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:40 pm

Post by nintendo2600 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:02 pm

infiniteneslives wrote:
nintendo2600 wrote: So like this you mean?
Yeah and with the diode note :)
does it matter much if I use a Zenner or Scholky diode? I got a bunch of the later but not so many of the former.

Post Reply