It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 10:31 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 230 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:50 am
Posts: 522
How badly is the sound distorted? Mega man 2 normally has noise in some music. Crashman stage is a good example.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:41 am
Posts: 41
Movax12 wrote:
How badly is the sound distorted? Mega man 2 normally has noise in some music. Crashman stage is a good example.

Really bad. All the sound is distorted. The intro, title screen, gameplay.

Here's a sample. Sorry about the quality, but please listen carefully:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bV7jRx3h ... e=youtu.be


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 463
Location: Iran
GameMachineJames wrote:
FARID I am working on a MMC3 Multicart (TSROM hardware). I was going to make it work using the clock signal to increment a digital counter to select the banks I am putting each game in... But I figured I should ask you, did you make a menu program for MMC3 games?


Now we are on the right direction! Yeeeeee Haaaaaaa!
Oh sheee. what did you say?
TSROM and it means we have PRG-RAM also!
Now it is a little tricky.
Another interesting challenge!
How are you going to generate the clock signal?
And yeah I possess a powerful TLROM Multicard menu but it just work with WRAM /CE as a clock signal on STA $6000~7FFF
But no I didn't write it
I dumped it from a real pirate glop top cartridge which was Kunio Nekketsu 8 in 1
What games do you want to put on the multicart? :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 11:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:48 am
Posts: 45
Super Mario Bros.
Super Mario Bros. 2j
Super Mario Bros. 2
Super Mario Bros. 3

(Those first two are hacks doppel made for me that run as MMC3.)

I can't give the ROMs out, but to make my own personal cartridge yes.

I am currently using the clock signal from the CIC to count "up" my timer and increment as a game switch. It works by resetting the system, each time it chooses a different bank on boot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:46 am
Posts: 234
So the mm2 audio issue is not present on the tgrom board, am I reading that right?

Working on Metroid MMC3 conversion today.

UPDATE - I now have Metroid converted to mmc3. Boots/plays on FCEUX, Nestopia, Nintendulator, and on a real nes.

I will now attempt converting Ninja Gaiden to mmc3. Hoping I can pull it off.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 463
Location: Iran
infidelity wrote:
I will now attempt converting Ninja Gaiden to mmc3. Hoping I can pull it off.


Please write some tips along the way, I am really interested in learning it. Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:41 am
Posts: 41
infidelity wrote:
So the mm2 audio issue is not present on the tgrom board, am I reading that right?


You are correct. The audio problem it's only present in a multicart.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 7:55 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 18535
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I remember reading that Capcom's music engine never initializes the sweep register. Try inserting LDA #$00 STA $4001 STA $4005 before the game starts.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:41 am
Posts: 41
tepples wrote:
I remember reading that Capcom's music engine never initializes the sweep register. Try inserting LDA #$00 STA $4001 STA $4005 before the game starts.

I'm sorry, but i don't know what that means. Maybe Farid or Infidelity can help me with that.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:46 am
Posts: 234
Id say insert that code within the reset vector.

"A900 8D0140 8D0540"

If you are unable to do this, I might have time tonight to insert into mm2, and send you the patch to see if that fixes the sound issue on your multicart.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 10:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:41 am
Posts: 41
infidelity wrote:
Id say insert that code within the reset vector.

"A900 8D0140 8D0540"

If you are unable to do this, I might have time tonight to insert into mm2, and send you the patch to see if that fixes the sound issue on your multicart.


Please do that for me. I've tested all your mmc3 patches on a cart board. I it's better to post the results on the forum you released them.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 1:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 463
Location: Iran
gorgyrip wrote:
tepples wrote:
I remember reading that Capcom's music engine never initializes the sweep register. Try inserting LDA #$00 STA $4001 STA $4005 before the game starts.

I'm sorry, but i don't know what that means. Maybe Farid or Infidelity can help me with that.


Do this :
Run the game with FCEUX
Debug --> Hex Editor
Scroll down to the end of list
E0 FF at the end line is called reset vector
Reset vector points to the $FFE0
Find that address, it is just a line above
Hopefully there are some free bytes before $FFE0
Insert the suggested code there : A9 00 8D 01 40 8D 05 40
Now change the reset vector to D8 FF so that it points to $FFD8 which is the start of our new code
The result would be like this :

Image

By the way you need to edit these value within the ROM so every time you want to edit a value right click on it and select "Go Here In Rom File"
You can switch between ROM File and NES memory from view menu on the menu bar of the hex editor
Don't forget to save it before exiting File --> Save Rom


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:41 am
Posts: 41
I made the changes, but i still have audio distorsion. I also noticed that if i start megaman 2, reset the console and select megaman 1, megaman 1 will also have audio distorsion.
EDIT: I did another test. I've replaced Megaman 1,2,4,6 PRG with megaman 2 PRG. Megaman 2 placed in slot 1 has no audio distorsion, but in slots 2,4,6 has audio distorsion.
Farid, can you please modify your menu so slot 2 will be similar to slot 1?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:46 am
Posts: 234
gorgyrip, please check acmlm board. Ive updated all my unrom to mmc3 patches with proper mirroring setups. I think its all set.

Also, Metroid has been added to my mmc3 coverted patch set.

-infidelity


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 463
Location: Iran
gorgyrip wrote:
Farid, can you please modify your menu so slot 2 will be similar to slot 1?


All of those slots are the same, except first slot which is Rockman 5 and there is no way to swap it with other slots, because it is hosted multicart menu routine.
Can you test and see if swapping rockman 1 and 2 would solve you problem?
So that whenever you select rockman 1 at the menu, rockman 2 would start and by selecting rockman 2 you would have rockman 1


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 230 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group