It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:37 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 230 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 16  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 9:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 592
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
What a mess 8-)

Naiss work !

_________________
http://www.tmeeco.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:56 pm
Posts: 287
FARID wrote:
Sorry it took so long, I was busy with some other fun stuff, anyway a promise is a promise, here is the Rockman 6 in 1 cartridge. Many thanks to l_oliveira, kyuusaku, 80sFREAK, tepples and others who helped me in NESDEV IRC Channel, this wouldn't possible without their help and their invaluable information.

Chips :
27C322 --> PRG
27C040 --> CHR
6264 --> SRAM
5202 --> MMC3
174 --> Latch
4053 --> Switch

Registers :
$6800 [XXXC PLMH]
H --> D0 --> P20
M --> D1 --> P19
L --> D2 --> P18 + C18
P --> D3 --> PRG [0:256 1:512]
C --> D4 --> CHR [0:ROM 1:RAM]

All games must be Mapper 4/MMC3 [D7--- ---D0] :
Rockman 5 --> 256 + 256 --> PRG + CHR --> XXX0 0000 --> 0000 0000 --> 00
Rockman 3 --> 256 + 256 --> PRG + CHR --> XXX0 0100 --> 0000 0100 --> 04
Rockman 1 --> 256 + 8 ----> PRG + SRAM -> XXX1 0010 --> 0001 0010 --> 12
Rockman 2 --> 256 + 8 ----> PRG + SRAM -> XXX1 0110 --> 0001 0110 --> 16
Rockman 4 --> 512 + 8 ----> PRG + SRAM -> XXX1 1X01 --> 0001 1001 --> 19
Rockman 6 --> 512 + 8 ----> PRG + SRAM -> XXX1 1X11 --> 0001 1111 --> 1F

Schematic :
Image

Tested on breadboard works perfect. Here is a video to watch :
Image

All of the chips can fit inside of a regular Famicom Cartridge :
Image

Download Menu Patch :
Image

PCB :
On Progress


Great!
The famicom is you made?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:40 pm
Posts: 275
FARID wrote:
Image
Ouch :shock: but you cheated - patched menu ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 484
Location: Iran
byemu wrote:
Great!
The famicom is you made?

Are you some kind of bot?
Why don't you go and learn a little english?
The translator that you are using, is the worst one! At least try to find a better translator.
Anyway, yes it is for Famicom, I always work on Famicom projects because in Iran we are using 60Pin Famicom system.

80sFREAK wrote:
Ouch :shock: but you cheated - patched menu ;)

No I didn't cheat. It is just my way. You want to remake this Chinese mapper. kyuusaku wants something accurate and I want a simple mapper. Each of us have our own reasons.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10164
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
80sFREAK wrote:
Ouch :shock: but you cheated - patched menu ;)

I see no reason to mimic a pirate mapper if you can achieve the same goal with a better/simpler one.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Posts: 395
Location: Brasilia, Brazil
tokumaru wrote:
80sFREAK wrote:
Ouch :shock: but you cheated - patched menu ;)

I see no reason to mimic a pirate mapper if you can achieve the same goal with a better/simpler one.


+1000

Even more, considering the generic nature of the pirate mapper, it's made that way so the Chinese pirate can actually save money reducing the changes he has to do to the games and making the hardware compatible with a wider range of games. That's the point on these custom variations of the MMC3 mapper. Making it simpler on a project such as this makes sense in several ways.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19334
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
tokumaru wrote:
I see no reason to mimic a pirate mapper if you can achieve the same goal with a better/simpler one.

Which is, for example, why my Action 53 multicart project used oversize BxROM until the goal changed in mid-October to incorporate UNROM games.

l_oliveira wrote:
and making the hardware compatible with a wider range of games

That's the difference right there. ASIC cost considerations differ from those of homebrewers dealing with discrete 7400 series chips and CPLDs.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:40 pm
Posts: 275
FARID wrote:
byemu wrote:
80sFREAK wrote:
Ouch :shock: but you cheated - patched menu ;)

No I didn't cheat. It is just my way. You want to remake this Chinese mapper. kyuusaku wants something accurate and I want a simple mapper. Each of us have our own reasons.

I put the smile after, so please don't treat my post as knocking down :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:37 pm
Posts: 47
Wow, this is awesome! I definitely want to give it a try.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:10 am
Posts: 65
i read somwhere that it should be possible to connect 2 8mbit chip as 16mbit chip for this.
can i take a 74hc139, connect it to /oe on pcb and connect the 2 /oe pins of the chips to the 74hc139, or is it done in another way?
thanks in advance:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2806
That likely wouldn't work. /OE is tied to ground often, and only /CE is used to select a chip.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 6:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:10 am
Posts: 65
So instead of /oe, i should connect the /ce pins of the chips to the 74hc139 and use the /ce connection on the pcb?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 1:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2806
If you used the right logic you could use the /CE signal from the pcb socket as well as an address line to determine which of two chips to enable. The address line to use would be the one higher than the maximum size of your first chip. For example if you were using two 256Kbyte EPROMs (27c020) to simulate a 512kbyte rom, you'd use A18 on the pcb socket as the input that selects which chip gets used. I cannot give any specific wiring diagram but that is the theory behind what you are talking about.

Actually now that I think about it, if that doesn't work, you could instead use the /OE signals on the two eproms going to an IC and using both /CE and an address line as inputs to determine which EPROM should output. Either way the whole theory behind using two roms as one memory involves using external logic to take as an input one of the address lines to determine which chip should be enabled or which should output data.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:10 am
Posts: 5
You should use a menu like this
ImageImage
Is more beautiful.
regards.

http://cah4e3.shedevr.org.ru/dumping_2012.php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 9:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 8:43 pm
Posts: 1311
fenix00 wrote:
You should use a menu like this
ImageImage

Mighty Figae Fight! My favorite game!

It is a very nice menu though, very detailed text.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 230 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 16  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group