It is currently Sun Jun 25, 2017 10:26 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 4:10 pm
Posts: 257
Zepper wrote:
Sorry, I'm definitely unfamiliar with nestopia code style.


Thanks zepper, no worries. Just to clarify I did not mean the odometer from hard drivin, it was about the shinobi patch. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 7:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 263
Who can provide the real machine video for skull & crossbones.
or provide real machine video for all mapper 64 game;

I try fix.......


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 8:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 263
http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XMTYzMDQzMzMxNg==.html

is working fine?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 4:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 4:10 pm
Posts: 257
is this your video dragon? Have you been able to successfully fix this or something? This is obviously one of your builds (nestopia plus) so can you share your fix?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:00 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3017
Location: Brazil
I've updated my mapper 64 IRQ code. It was broken, so Hard Drivin' now works as it should be.
The wiki has been updated with this information.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 7:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 11:30 am
Posts: 205
I'm having trouble understanding that code. In particular, when is irq_rambo1 called? Every M2 cycle, with ppuflag set when at the end of a scanline? Then why is the //IRQ reset part in there, when according to the updated wiki, the IRQ reload business should be happening at the end of a scanline, not every M2 cycle.

As far as a glitch-free performance is concerned, here are a few things to look out for in Skull & Crossbones:

Correct (according to these real-machine-captured videos: 1, 2):
Image
Wrong:
Image

Look for a rogue scanline above the status bar in the left picture, a garbled "CONTINUES" lettering in the middle picture, and the level selection rectangle being one scanline off in the right picture. I have never seen an emulator that could get all three right AND run Hard Drivin' glitch-free (This video shows that at least during Hard Drivin's title screen, the top scanline of the lower part of the screen should be cut off.) Does your emulator manage to do that?

Here is a real-machine-captured video of the two-player mode, and what glitches should be expected (none, except some jitter at the far right side of the screen in the scanline directly below the status bar).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:35 pm
Posts: 587
FWIW, for S&C there is a garbage scanline in both of the flash carts, but the item and level selection screens are correct. Hard Drivin is a glitchy mess below the driving portion of the screen in both.

_________________
Nerdly Pleasures - My Vintage Video Game & Computing Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:25 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3017
Location: Brazil
NewRisingSun wrote:
In particular, when is irq_rambo1 called?

At every CPU cycle, or 3 PPU cycles (NTSC), like you do with any other PPU IRQs, such as MMC3.
Quote:
Every M2 cycle, with ppuflag set when at the end of a scanline? Then why is the //IRQ reset part in there, when according to the updated wiki, the IRQ reload business should be happening at the end of a scanline, not every M2 cycle.

Correct, read it again. Once the IRQ counter is zero, wait for 4 CPU cycles, then trigger an IRQ. This isn't an hack, as it was already confirmed.
Quote:
(...)during Hard Drivin's title screen, the top scanline of the lower part of the screen should be cut off.) Does your emulator manage to do that?

The current public version has broken IRQs for mapper 64. The unreleased version has fixed such issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:35 pm
Posts: 587
I believe Shinobi may have similar corruption on the last line of the in-game status bar

Is there any emulator available today that can demonstrate the accurate RAMBO-1 IRQ behavior?

_________________
Nerdly Pleasures - My Vintage Video Game & Computing Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 6:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 11:30 am
Posts: 205
Not to my knowledge. As I mentioned before, no current emulator gets all screens of Skulls and Crossbones right. We'll see how that revised RockNES code actually performs once it is released.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Patrick FR and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group