Page 3 of 3

Re: RockNES emulator updates [v5.13d Jan 19th 2014]

Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:08 am
by Eugene.S
1. Zepper, can you add simply linear interpolation (software or via directx) in future versions, or no hope?
Image
(I've taken 0.561 old "-blitter4" 640x480 screenshot and double-sized it to 1280x960 using GIMP with linear int.)

2. The new "blitter-7" with triple buffering looks very cool on my laptop with 320x240 fullscreen mode. 16:9 display smoothly interpolates the picture so it looks like 4:3 TV
And the mesh objects (area around the door "2") have very nice CRT-like flickering (i assume at 30 FPS):
Image Image

But my desktop machine cannot use 320x240 fullscreen, only 640x480 and above available (intel GMA4500, WinXPx64 and Win7x64).
So, "-blitter 7" looks like:
Image

Re: RockNES emulator updates [v5.13d Jan 19th 2014]

Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:25 am
by Zepper
@blargg
These images were resized, so the pixel pattern you noticed is different.

@Eugene
I'll see what can be done, but basically, you don't want interpolation, but repeating the pixel on resizing into 640x480.

Re: RockNES emulator updates [v5.13d Jan 19th 2014]

Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:41 am
by Eugene.S
Zepper wrote:I'll see what can be done, but basically, you don't want interpolation, but repeating the pixel on resizing into 640x480.
Yes, you are right.
But linear interpolation support would be nice too, especially on hi-res modes like 800x600 and higher:
Image
Here is "-use_desktop_resolution 1" mode with "-blitter 4" 640x480 (max. available resolution for rocknes)
What is the point of this mode without stretch/interpolation?

New displays (Benq BL2411PT for example) interpolates low-res modes like 640x480 very smooth internally,
but old displays (like Samsung 713n) interpolates it much more sharp.

So linear interpolation support in RockNES would be useful too

Re: RockNES emulator updates [v5.13d Jan 19th 2014]

Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:29 pm
by Zepper
Well, the stretched mode 640x480 is done "by hand". There's an Allegro blitter, but it lacks quality on image resizing. On other side, it's quite fast.

As I said, I'll see what can be done. Thanks for the feedback!

Re: RockNES emulator updates [v5.13d Jan 19th 2014]

Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:45 pm
by Eugene.S
Thank you. Maybe customizable colorthemes will make the GUI more interesting:

Image

Re: RockNES emulator updates [v5.14 May 31st 2014]

Posted: Sat May 31, 2014 5:27 pm
by Zepper
New version released.

Re: RockNES emulator updates [v5.142 June 2nd 2014]

Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 8:44 pm
by Zepper
Bugfixes, specially with video modes (fullscreen/windowed).
Check 1st message.

Re: RockNES emulator updates [v5.142 June 2nd 2014]

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 6:35 am
by Eugene.S
Hi, Zepper. I've found a new bug.
Try to repeat it.
1. Start up rocknes with this cfg:

Code: Select all

-graphics_mode 4
-video_resolution 640 480
-blitter 2
-triple_buffer 1
-use_desktop_resolution 0
2. Try to switch between 3x and 4x blitters by pressing "4" ingame, then return back to blitter 2.
3. Exit rocknes and run it again. Here is error message appears ("triple buffering is not supported")
and cfg-file automatically refresh to:

Code: Select all

-graphics_mode 2
-video_resolution 768 720 (if you tried switch to 3x blitter) or 1024 960 (if you tried 4x blitter)
-triple_buffer 0
my machine:
core i7-2600K with intel HD3000 built-in (video driver 9.17.10.3517 /20.march.2014/ WHQL), win7-x64, 1920x1200 (16:10) IPS display.

Re: RockNES emulator updates [v5.142 June 2nd 2014]

Posted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 7:48 am
by Eugene.S
I've found new GUI bugs:
http://youtu.be/tOumccvqVJE
1. options - triple buffering: the warning message appears even if you don't press OK but only press "close".
2. options - other options: GUI unfreezes if you press "close" or "cancel".

Re: RockNES emulator updates [v5.142 June 2nd 2014]

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:34 am
by Zepper
Eugene.S wrote:I've found new GUI bugs:
http://youtu.be/tOumccvqVJE
1. options - triple buffering: the warning message appears even if you don't press OK but only press "close".
2. options - other options: GUI unfreezes if you press "close" or "cancel".
Fixed. :) Thanks.
Regarding your previous report, I've changed a few things - it's no more possible to manually set up the video resolution.