Error in F-1 Race (1984)

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3220
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Error in F-1 Race (1984)

Post by Zepper » Fri Jan 03, 2014 3:00 pm

This game hangs on RockNES on startup. It expects a sprite zero hit (PC=$FF62), and it goes into an infinity loop (reading $2002:$40). If I press RESET or HARD RESET, the game starts working fine.

Strange or is something I'm missing regarding PPU reset?
Last edited by Zepper on Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error in F1 Race

Post by WedNESday » Fri Jan 03, 2014 4:21 pm

Zepper wrote:This game hangs on RockNES on startup. It expects a sprite zero hit (PC=$FF62), and it goes into an infinity loop (reading $2002:$40). If I press RESET or HARD RESET, the game starts working fine.

Strange or is something I'm missing regarding PPU reset?
Could you be a bit more specific about the title of the ROM cartridge?

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3220
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Error in F1 Race

Post by Zepper » Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:23 pm

Image

tepples
Posts: 22054
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Error in F1 Race

Post by tepples » Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:24 pm

That'd be F1 レース/F1 Race, which is so old that it was on RROM, the board that preceded NROM-128.

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race

Post by WedNESday » Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:35 am

Still can't find the ROM cartridge in my folder collection.

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3220
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race

Post by Zepper » Sat Jan 04, 2014 5:51 am

google it

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race

Post by WedNESday » Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:54 am

Ah, F-1 as opposed to F1.

WedNESday runs it fine 1st time. And I would imagine all other emulators would do so as well considering I've never heard of this game having any problems.

User avatar
cpow
NESICIDE developer
Posts: 1097
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:55 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race

Post by cpow » Sat Jan 04, 2014 9:22 am

WedNESday wrote:Ah, F-1 as opposed to F1.

WedNESday runs it fine 1st time. And I would imagine all other emulators would do so as well considering I've never heard of this game having any problems.
Works fine in NESICIDE. Do you pass all the blargg sprite hit tests?

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3220
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race (1984)

Post by Zepper » Sat Jan 04, 2014 10:42 am

To be more specific:

- load and play any game;
- now load F-1 Race.

I have to compare a clean boot (first loading) with a new ROM loading boot with reset.

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race (1984)

Post by WedNESday » Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:15 pm

Zepper wrote:To be more specific:

- load and play any game;
- now load F-1 Race.
Yep, still works.
cpow wrote:Do you pass all the blargg sprite hit tests?
This.

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3220
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race (1984) [update]

Post by Zepper » Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:26 am

Found a clue. Well, the game reads $4016 and stores at RAM[$6C]. Later, it reads back RAM[$6C] which should be zero; otherwise, it hangs. In my emulator, reading $4016 returns $01 ("A" button is pressed). I couldn't reproduce it in other emus, since the button state seems to be clear on startup/reset.

Try out. Set $4016 to return $01. The game will hang. ;)
Image

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race (1984)

Post by WedNESday » Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:19 am

RAM $6B gets the select button and $6C gets the start button on the title screen. All other buttons are ignored.

Why should $6C be $00 when read back later? On WedNESday the title screen has both locations as $00 when neither button is pressed and the game runs.

Edit: $06 gets the start button too and $07 gets select.

User avatar
Dwedit
Posts: 4354
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race (1984)

Post by Dwedit » Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:23 am

This isn't some weird multicart rip where the rom isn't authentic, is it?
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3220
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race (1984)

Post by Zepper » Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:39 am

The checksum (0xE0604F76) is correct. Did you try what I said regarding $4016?

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error in F-1 Race (1984)

Post by WedNESday » Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:44 am

Zepper wrote:The checksum (0xE0604F76) is correct. Did you try what I said regarding $4016?
If you force it to read $01 from $4016 @ reset then all you get is a grey screen.

Post Reply