It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:50 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 8:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 6:44 am
Posts: 22
Has anyone ever attempted to make a replacement FDS BIOS? Using the dumped real FDS BIOS obviously works for emulation, but that dump is still a copyrighted work.

The replacement BIOS wouldn't need to be a drop-in replacement for the real thing on real hardware. It would only need to work well enough so that emulating .FDS images works. In other words, it would just need to emulate the real BIOS' behavior from the Famicom's point of view.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 8:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19342
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
There is high-level emulation (HLE), which isn't cycle-accurate but which GBA emulators have successfully offered for a long time. But one thing that makes HLE easy on GBA but hard on FDS is the fact that while GBA uses syscall numbers, FDS uses hardcoded entry points. This is the same thing that makes reimplementing the BIOS from scratch in 6502 assembly language so hard, as the replacement routines have to be the same lengths as the originals..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:27 pm
Posts: 76
I guess I never really checked... do any FDS games use the disk IO regs directly instead of invoking the bios?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:44 pm
Posts: 924
Location: Japan
Yes, in a sense. Games that have copy protection / counterfeit checks like Doki Doki Panic run their own "implementations" of the BIOS file check routine in software, counting the # of files manually, then reading past what the BIOS just read. So a few games manually edit ZP variables and FDS regs which the BIOS uses.

_________________
http://www.chrismcovell.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10164
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
tepples wrote:
...as the replacement routines have to be the same lengths as the originals..

Can't the new routines just jump around a bit if they happen to be larger than the originals?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19342
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
tokumaru wrote:
tepples wrote:
...as the replacement routines have to be the same lengths as the originals..

Can't the new routines just jump around a bit if they happen to be larger than the originals?

The ROM of the Enhanced Apple IIe and Apple IIGS computers does that, with some routines stored in a separate ROM bank. But there probably isn't much space left in the FDS BIOS unless you make the intro screen dramatically simpler and use it for overflow.


(I occasionally bump if I have a substantive reply to a post that I found while searching for something else.)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group