RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
oRBIT2002
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:06 am
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by oRBIT2002 » Tue Apr 07, 2015 11:37 am

I gave this a quick try and my first question is, is there a reason you have this "DOS-look" of your menus and filerequester?
Personally I find it pretty confusing with a program that uses a design that differs alot from the OS that I'm running.

tepples
Posts: 21710
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by tepples » Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:28 pm

oRBIT2002 wrote:is there a reason you have this "DOS-look" of your menus and filerequester?
The look was inherited from GEM on the Atari ST. Allegro was originally for the ST until it was ported to DOS and then other platforms.

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by Zepper » Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:47 pm

Well, it's stated in the main page of the wiki:
Before considering developing your own NES emulator, ask yourself if your efforts may be better spent helping out those who already have emulators in development!
About the menu, well...

a) I'm too lazy for DirectX programming. :oops:
b) Allegro library is my reference (and it'll always be). :roll: 8-)
c) Nobody has offered help to improve my emulator. :cry:
d) ...? :?: :?: :?:

For some reason, the menu style is a huge problem. It keeps away a lot of people just because it's not a Windows-looking-standard (is this correct, tepples?). :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

tepples
Posts: 21710
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by tepples » Tue Apr 07, 2015 3:46 pm

One thing you can do to fix up the look of your menus is to load a proportional font and install that as Allegro's system font.

User avatar
oRBIT2002
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:06 am
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by oRBIT2002 » Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:36 am

Personally I am a little bothered with GUI's that doesn't meet modern guidelines (for sometimes no obvious reasons) but hey, that's just me. :)

If I was limited in this aspect, not being able to use the standard Windows-look-and-feel I would perhaps go for a totally different kind of GUI that enriched the experience in some other way to attract users.

Anyway, cool to see that you're still active coding on your emulator. You've been doing it for quite a few years now? I started A/NES (for AmigaOS) in 1997 and I'm still checking out the code from the time to time, I'm starting to feel pretty old.. :)

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by Zepper » Wed Apr 08, 2015 8:57 am

oRBIT2002 wrote:Personally I am a little bothered with GUI's that doesn't meet modern guidelines (for sometimes no obvious reasons) but hey, that's just me. :)

If I was limited in this aspect, not being able to use the standard Windows-look-and-feel I would perhaps go for a totally different kind of GUI that enriched the experience in some other way to attract users.

Anyway, cool to see that you're still active coding on your emulator. You've been doing it for quite a few years now? I started A/NES (for AmigaOS) in 1997 and I'm still checking out the code from the time to time, I'm starting to feel pretty old.. :)
I'm active since 1998, or 17 years for this emulator. ^_^;; Well, I don't mind about the GUI, but what matters is the emulation accuracy.

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by zeroone » Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:48 pm

Mapper 090 issues:

Image

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by Zepper » Wed Apr 08, 2015 5:26 pm

WTF!? :shock: :shock: :shock:

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by zeroone » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:47 am

Zepper wrote:WTF!? :shock: :shock: :shock:
@Zepper I'm also experiencing difficulty implementing mapper 090. Can you describe how you are using the nametable registers?

Edit: Nevermind. I think I solved it. Thanks anyway.

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by Zepper » Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:59 am

I added TURBO mode for the 4 buttons. ^_^;; It was hard to figure out a effective method, but I guess it's ok. Just a note: you can enable/disable turbo for a certain buttom, but NOT mapping a separate key for it.

Now moving to the next task - triple buffering without having to restart the emulator. It's possible, since the gfx mode already brings a flag indicating if triple buffering is supported. So, the setup occurs after the gfx mode, and not before it.

User avatar
Eugene.S
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Location: Russia (UTC+3)
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by Eugene.S » Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:01 pm

Image

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by Zepper » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:25 pm

It's already fixed, thanks.

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by zeroone » Wed Apr 29, 2015 5:14 pm

The status bar at the bottom of the screens in Flintstones, The - The Surprise at Dinosaur Peak! (USA) shakes.

User avatar
Eugene.S
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Location: Russia (UTC+3)
Contact:

Re: RockNES - beta testing anyone? [UP: April 3rd]

Post by Eugene.S » Tue May 26, 2015 2:26 pm

1. Bug in GUI:

Rocknes 5.20RC4 doesn't remember "Vertical Retrace Sync" option selected by GUI.
You must set "-use_vertical_retrace 1(0)" manually in RockNES.ini to enable(disable) it.

2. Custom resolutions request:

Forced 640x480 resolution with original blitter 2 (unstretched 512x480) looks VERY NICE on 16:9 displays.
I've tested it on 1366x768 laptop and 1920x1080 desktop.
The display does interpolation with stretch (like TV), so output image looks better than any existing rocknes blitters.
So, you need to select *insert your preferred resolution* again and again in GUI. This is really uncomfortable.
Or you need to change RockNES.exe properties via Windows compatibility menu to force 640x480 mode.
This is better, but only 640x480 is avaliable.

Post Reply