It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:44 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2015 1:47 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19352
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Can your emulator play the Rick Rolled! demo?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2015 6:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:26 am
Posts: 106
Location: RU
tepples wrote:
Can your emulator play the Rick Rolled! demo?

It's now optional :)
Config -> Timing.

Also, I couldn't set it up for new PPU at all, so I blocked overclocking for it.


Attachments:
fceux-overclocking.7z [1.05 MiB]
Downloaded 95 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2015 2:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Posts: 260
Location: Russia
I've set 999 extra scanlines.
Tepples's overclock test rom shows 1264 lines/frame ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2015 12:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:26 am
Posts: 106
Location: RU
7-bit samples still can't be properly played at high overclocking. I can only limit PPU loops before they start, checking if 7-bit is already playing. If I check it during PPU loop itself and break it, there are clips.

So it has to be checked only before the loop, and then it's up to user to set proper value for extra scanlines. BTDD samples play okay at 90 maximum, but TMNT3 needs 200 in 2-1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FCEUX overclocking
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2015 7:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3969
Works really well! Armadillo is a lot more playable once you remove the slowdown that plagues that game.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:10 pm
Posts: 35
Drag wrote:
Isn't it a given that changing timing specifications is going to break any kind of programming that relies on the spec being unchanged? Just look at early dos games like Bouncing Babies which become unplayable as CPU speeds increase, with certain manufacturers going as far as adding a "turbo" switch on the PC to flip the clock speed between a compatible one and a fast one.


I imagine few NES games don't wait for vertical blank at the end of every frame. The only case I can think of where you might not do it is when you're writing PCM audio to the DPCM delta counter, and few games did that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FCEUX overclocking
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:14 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19352
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
If by "few" you mean "quite a few", I'll agree. Off the top of my head, I can think of Skate or Die 2, The Three Stooges, all Wheel of Fortune games, Joshua, Big Bird's Hide and Speak, Countdown, SCAT, Blades of Steel, Action 52 menu, Mito Koumon 1 and 2, and I think the US version of Bases Loaded. I wrote decompression tools for many of these several years ago. And when I used to hang out on Pocket Heaven years ago, I gained kind of a reputation for reminding the PocketNES developers that Big Bird's Hide and Speak still didn't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FCEUX overclocking
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:10 pm
Posts: 35
Considering the huge library of NES games, that really isn't a lot, and most people aren't interested in most of those games. I'm not saying they're not worth supporting if possible, but I think most people really won't mind if a minor emulator feature isn't compatible with those games.

It's also only relevant when PCM audio is being played. At other times the game will probably wait for vblank like normal.

Hypothetically you could add an option to disable overclocking for frames where $4011 is written to directly, although in a few games this will be triggered at inappropriate times, such as the percussion in FF3's music. But the player probably won't mind if these games aren't overclocked.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FCEUX overclocking
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:26 am
Posts: 106
Location: RU
furrykef wrote:
Hypothetically you could add an option to disable overclocking for frames where $4011 is written to directly, although in a few games this will be triggered at inappropriate times, such as the percussion in FF3's music. But the player probably won't mind if these games aren't overclocked.

Yeah, hypothetically.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FCEUX overclocking
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:58 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19352
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I guess an emulator could detect more than 10 writes to $4011 in a frame and disable the extra post-render lines for that frame.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: krzysiobal, tepples and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group