It is currently Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:13 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:44 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
Official topic for RockNES releases. ^_^;;
Website: http://rocknes.web.fc2.com/

Latest version is 5.54 September 23rd 2017.
Code:
 What's new for version 5.54 (09/23/2017)
 ----------------------------------------
 - Improved Famicom Disk System PPU IRQ timing (thanks Sour).
 - Fixed "Skip Disk System license screen" option, working ok.
 - Fixed scanlines in NSF mode (while playing a tune & drawing circles).
 - Fixed version number in the file properties.
 - Minor fixes and improvements.


Attachments:
rnes554.zip [1.78 MiB]
Downloaded 11 times


Last edited by Zepper on Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:38 pm, edited 55 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Posts: 257
Location: Russia
1) Final version need these external libraries to run (again):
- libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll
- zlib1.dll
Old betas have same problems, but you've fixed it on RC4.
2) "misc -> videos resolution -> fullscreen options" not implemented yet? (this window hangs)
3) set vertical retrace GUI bug since RC4.
4) MMC3 hell again. Bucky O'Hare for example:

After demo-play, press start.
title screen glitches + lifebar shakes + text color wrong (i can show where is)
Image
On 5.20 RC4 this game work correct.

Kick Master, Monster in my Pocket crashes emulator due to unofficial opcode, first game also have graphical glitches


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 3:12 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
Thank you. Fixing them... 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:55 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
I don't know what's wrong with Bucky O'Hare... just that screen (mirroring error?) after the 1st gameplay demo.
With Kick Master, most unexpected. I traced the CPU code and I don't know either.

Yup, I fixed a couple of mistakes in the MMC3 IRQ - Mickey games (Letterland/Numberland) are working again, plus a problem with the IRQ logic in the PPU registers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Posts: 257
Location: Russia
Quote:
I don't know what's wrong with Bucky O'Hare... just that screen (mirroring error?) after the 1st gameplay demo.


1) Lifebar shakes
2) Press (and hold) "B" on intro to make fast text scrolling and you'll see a bug:
Image
blue text instead white. If you don't hold B, bug not appear. Strange behaviour.
3) ?-about (c) 1998-2015 need to update
4) all stretched blitters (2x, 4x, 4.5x) does some kind of software interpolation:
Quote:
to stretch the image into 640 pixels, the 3rd pixel was being repeated (pattern AABBCCCAABBCCC..., A=1st, B=2nd, C=3rd pixel). Now, it's interpolated.

except 3x, which looks raw. I think interpolation need to be optionally
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10108&start=15#p124260
because old raw stretch method that used in 5.061 to "2x", and used only for "3x" in 5.20, looks better on some machines.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 7:01 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
@Eugene.S:
1. I don't know what's up with Kick Master or Bucky O'Hare. -_-;; Still looking for problems...
2. Fixed the color style selection in the GUI, the copyright year, disabled item "view palette ram" and the vertical retrace flag.
3. I couldn't reproduce the problem with misc->palette->set default palette, as you said to be black screen...??
4. About the pixel interpolation, well... I'll see what can be done.

Anything else?

EDIT: oh sh*t! Big thanks to ME for saving the sources of 5.20 RC4. ^_^;; A very obscure bug introduced in the MMC3 IRQ logic. HAHAHA, it's fixed and working like a charm!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:31 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
New version.
There's more things to do... but I'm taking a short break. ^_^;;
Thanks Eugene.S for the feedback. Just wait for more changes, ok?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:11 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
Fixed a few things, but I did not change the version number. Keep an eye in the 1st post. ^_^;;


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:50 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
up! :)

I'm aware of the MinGW dependancy, but it comes from zlib1.dll which I don't know how to remove such dependancy.

Fixed. ^_^;;


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 7:29 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
Fixed PPU IRQs. They were broken. :oops: :oops: :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 11:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Posts: 257
Location: Russia
5.23 is good release, many mmc3 glitches are fixed. Sound volume is really better.

Games that have DPCM-channel sounds distorted on lastest version
(Zen Intergalactic Ninja, Bucky O'Hare, Journey to Silius) if option "use unsigned samples" = 1.
Sound stumbles very often if "Vertical Retrace" or "Triple Buffering" are enabled


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:20 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
Eugene.S wrote:
5.23 is good release, many mmc3 glitches are fixed. Sound volume is really better.

Games that have DPCM-channel sounds distorted on lastest version
(Zen Intergalactic Ninja, Bucky O'Hare, Journey to Silius) if option "use unsigned samples" = 1.

Support for unsigned samples must be improved.
Regarding this:
Quote:
Sound stumbles very often if "Vertical Retrace" or "Triple Buffering" are enabled

Does it occur with the signed waves (default)?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Posts: 257
Location: Russia
Quote:
Does it occur with the signed waves?

Sorry for false alarm. It occur only on old laptop cpu (with signed / unsigned samples and even with games lacks DPCM). But on desktop core i7-2600k it works good.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 6:48 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
Up! Version 5.24 fixes the unsigned samples, plus a few things.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 11:28 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3063
Location: Brazil
New version available. :) Major news is the APU sound output remixer rewritten.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], James and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group