It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:10 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Game Genie multi-codes?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:55 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3076
Location: Brazil
I added Game Genie back in my emulator. It's working. ^_^;;

What's the rule when someone wants to enter more than 1 code at a time? In the original GG, how many codes were acceptable? Can I enter a 6 chars AND a 8 chars codes? Two 8 chars codes? Two 6 chars codes?

What's the rule after all? I believe to avoid codes that points to the same address, for example.
I need some advice on it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19355
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
The original Game Genie supports up to three codes. This could be three 6-character codes, two 6-character codes and zero or one 8-character code, one 6-character code and zero, one, or two 8-character codes, or one, two, or three 8-character codes. I don't know what happens if you add two codes patching the same address.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5899
Location: Canada
If you want to see what the original game genie UI looked like, an NROM version of that is available on this site:
http://nesdev.com/genie.zip

Some people do actually chain multiple game genies to implement more codes, though, so in practice the limitations of the hardware have been occasionally exceeded in that way.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:24 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3076
Location: Brazil
tepples wrote:
The original Game Genie supports up to three codes. This could be three 6-character codes, two 6-character codes and zero or one 8-character code, one 6-character code and zero, one, or two 8-character codes, or one, two, or three 8-character codes. I don't know what happens if you add two codes patching the same address.

So, 3 codes, any combination. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:52 am
Posts: 99
Location: Texas, USA
tepples wrote:
I don't know what happens if you add two codes patching the same address.
When I examined the writes the Game Genie ROM uses to send the codes to its hardware, the results I saw suggested the following: If you enter multiple codes for the same address, the Game Genie only uses the first one and marks the others as invalid/disabled.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group