It is currently Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:55 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:18 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 2962
Location: Brazil
It occurs even in Nintendulator. Pic from RockNES.
Attachment:
Super Mario Bros. 3 (J) 000.png
Super Mario Bros. 3 (J) 000.png [ 23.68 KiB | Viewed 375 times ]

The only emulator that displays it perfectly is VirtuaNES (see below)
Attachment:
Super Mario Bros. 3 (J) 201702092119578.png
Super Mario Bros. 3 (J) 201702092119578.png [ 8.93 KiB | Viewed 372 times ]


Last edited by Zepper on Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 17984
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Splits in Super Mario Bros. 3, Mega Man 3, and possibly other early MMC3 games are glitchy on hardware. Have you compared this to the behavior of an authentic Super Mario Bros. 3 cassette in an authentic Family Computer?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:23 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 2962
Location: Brazil
tepples wrote:
Splits in Super Mario Bros. 3, Mega Man 3, and possibly other early MMC3 games are glitchy on hardware. Have you compared this to the behavior of an authentic Super Mario Bros. 3 cassette in an authentic Family Computer?

I don't own a Famicom.

EDIT: looks like it's not a bug after all.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXSJeKgbBeQ


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 639
Location: New York, NY
It is difficult to tell exactly what you are referring to based on your description and pics. Are you referring to one of these:

https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Game_bugs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:56 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 2962
Location: Brazil
zeroone wrote:
It is difficult to tell exactly what you are referring to based on your description and pics. Are you referring to one of these:

https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Game_bugs

Difficult!? :shock: Look again.
Attachment:
glitch1.png
glitch1.png [ 7.76 KiB | Viewed 349 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 17984
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
In case anyone missed it, Zepper refers to a white line between the copyright notice and the checkerboard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 639
Location: New York, NY
tepples wrote:
In case anyone missed it, Zepper refers to a white line between the copyright notice and the checkerboard.


That actually look me a minute to notice.

Zepper wrote:
EDIT: looks like it's not a bug after all.


As Zepper pointed out, there are plenty of videos of SMB3 (U) on YouTube recorded from real hardware and they do indeed have that white horizontal scanline on the title screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 253
smb3 j
PRG0,is have this line
PRG1,is not have this line.

smb3 u
PRG0,PRG1 have this line.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:50 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 2962
Location: Brazil
zeroone wrote:
As Zepper pointed out, there are plenty of videos of SMB3 (U) on YouTube recorded from real hardware and they do indeed have that white horizontal scanline on the title screen.

I mean the japanese version! In other words, "there are a few videos of SMB3 (J) on YouTube recorded from real hardware and they have NO white horizontal scanline on the title screen".


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 5:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 253
Zepper wrote:
zeroone wrote:
As Zepper pointed out, there are plenty of videos of SMB3 (U) on YouTube recorded from real hardware and they do indeed have that white horizontal scanline on the title screen.

I mean the japanese version! In other words, "there are a few videos of SMB3 (J) on YouTube recorded from real hardware and they have NO white horizontal scanline on the title screen".


SMB3 J
PRG0 version is have this white horizontal scanline.
I have PRG1 version cart.


Attachments:
IMG_20170212_202218.jpg
IMG_20170212_202218.jpg [ 433.78 KiB | Viewed 230 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 5:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 253
this is USA version


Attachments:
IMG_20170212_202218.jpg
IMG_20170212_202218.jpg [ 602.2 KiB | Viewed 227 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group