It is currently Sun Apr 23, 2017 3:05 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:18 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 2981
Location: Brazil
It occurs even in Nintendulator. Pic from RockNES.
Attachment:
Super Mario Bros. 3 (J) 000.png
Super Mario Bros. 3 (J) 000.png [ 23.68 KiB | Viewed 780 times ]

The only emulator that displays it perfectly is VirtuaNES (see below)
Attachment:
Super Mario Bros. 3 (J) 201702092119578.png
Super Mario Bros. 3 (J) 201702092119578.png [ 8.93 KiB | Viewed 777 times ]


Last edited by Zepper on Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 18177
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Splits in Super Mario Bros. 3, Mega Man 3, and possibly other early MMC3 games are glitchy on hardware. Have you compared this to the behavior of an authentic Super Mario Bros. 3 cassette in an authentic Family Computer?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:23 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 2981
Location: Brazil
tepples wrote:
Splits in Super Mario Bros. 3, Mega Man 3, and possibly other early MMC3 games are glitchy on hardware. Have you compared this to the behavior of an authentic Super Mario Bros. 3 cassette in an authentic Family Computer?

I don't own a Famicom.

EDIT: looks like it's not a bug after all.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXSJeKgbBeQ


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 670
Location: New York, NY
It is difficult to tell exactly what you are referring to based on your description and pics. Are you referring to one of these:

https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Game_bugs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:56 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 2981
Location: Brazil
zeroone wrote:
It is difficult to tell exactly what you are referring to based on your description and pics. Are you referring to one of these:

https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Game_bugs

Difficult!? :shock: Look again.
Attachment:
glitch1.png
glitch1.png [ 7.76 KiB | Viewed 754 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 18177
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
In case anyone missed it, Zepper refers to a white line between the copyright notice and the checkerboard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 670
Location: New York, NY
tepples wrote:
In case anyone missed it, Zepper refers to a white line between the copyright notice and the checkerboard.


That actually look me a minute to notice.

Zepper wrote:
EDIT: looks like it's not a bug after all.


As Zepper pointed out, there are plenty of videos of SMB3 (U) on YouTube recorded from real hardware and they do indeed have that white horizontal scanline on the title screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 253
smb3 j
PRG0,is have this line
PRG1,is not have this line.

smb3 u
PRG0,PRG1 have this line.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:50 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 2981
Location: Brazil
zeroone wrote:
As Zepper pointed out, there are plenty of videos of SMB3 (U) on YouTube recorded from real hardware and they do indeed have that white horizontal scanline on the title screen.

I mean the japanese version! In other words, "there are a few videos of SMB3 (J) on YouTube recorded from real hardware and they have NO white horizontal scanline on the title screen".


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 5:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 253
Zepper wrote:
zeroone wrote:
As Zepper pointed out, there are plenty of videos of SMB3 (U) on YouTube recorded from real hardware and they do indeed have that white horizontal scanline on the title screen.

I mean the japanese version! In other words, "there are a few videos of SMB3 (J) on YouTube recorded from real hardware and they have NO white horizontal scanline on the title screen".


SMB3 J
PRG0 version is have this white horizontal scanline.
I have PRG1 version cart.


Attachments:
IMG_20170212_202218.jpg
IMG_20170212_202218.jpg [ 433.78 KiB | Viewed 635 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 5:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 253
this is USA version


Attachments:
IMG_20170212_202218.jpg
IMG_20170212_202218.jpg [ 602.2 KiB | Viewed 632 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:55 am
Posts: 4
What makes it clear that there is an IRQ bug in the earlier MMC3-A Japanese ROM(s) is the glitch line produced in the castle levels where the ceiling drops. It's revealed in the YouTube video mentioned by Zepper in this thread, beginning at 6:08.

It appears that only one of the official releases for Super Mario Bros. 3 drops most of the white line on the title screen — the more common Japanese PRG1, so it's safe to assume that the black area was unintentional. (And if it was intentional, it's still not in the modern form expressed in all future releases, U.S.-on.)

There's more extensive research into the differences between the ROMs on The Cutting Room floor website, where the black area can be seen:

https://tcrf.net/Super_Mario_Bros._3/Ve ... ifferences


Attachments:
File comment: With puNES, which emulates the MMC3-A board very closely to the real thing
SMB3 W1 Castle (J-A).jpg
SMB3 W1 Castle (J-A).jpg [ 114.49 KiB | Viewed 319 times ]
File comment: YouTube frame of actual Famicom
Super Mario Bros 3 (J) MMC3-A IRQ bug-Famicom YouTube.png
Super Mario Bros 3 (J) MMC3-A IRQ bug-Famicom YouTube.png [ 109.91 KiB | Viewed 319 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:57 pm 
Online

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:27 pm
Posts: 16
Comparison of IRQ line timings to the Japanese prototypes:


Attachments:
File comment: Famimaga Sept. 1988
a3.png
a3.png [ 494.58 KiB | Viewed 241 times ]
File comment: GTV Jul. 1998
a2.png
a2.png [ 564.8 KiB | Viewed 241 times ]
File comment: GTV Jul. 1988
a1.png
a1.png [ 229.31 KiB | Viewed 241 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:55 am
Posts: 4
kazblox wrote:
Comparison of IRQ line timings to the Japanese prototypes:


The early prototypes make it obvious that Mario is slightly intersecting the checkerboard pattern. Technically, he's always intersecting the first split line, but aesthetically, it may have been better to have the characters meet a black line first (as the sprites have black outlines). The white line is very much present in the prototype snapshots.

It was probably necessary to move the second part of the split a little lower due to DMC CPU read delays during DMC sound effects (the effects of the delays still show up in overscan-clipped areas). It would be interesting to know whether or not DMC sound effects were even used until later, considering the early test videos had no game play sound. The controller read / DMC DMA conflict bug only made things more complicated; however, we all know Super Mario Bros. 2 (U) used DMC in its 1988 release.

There were a number of bugs to work out, and some still present including occasional glitches during "water float" sequences while several actions are slowing down the game, so two extra black scanlines added considerable IRQ split leeway in the end. The top of the scoreboard split is one pixel lower in a level than it is on a world map.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group