Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

AnnaWu
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:31 am

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by AnnaWu » Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:28 am

To load/save BASIC files (*.bas) is working.
Example: SPARK HOUSE BY HAWK
Attachments
SPARKHOUSE.zip
(851 Bytes) Downloaded 271 times

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by zeroone » Tue Apr 04, 2017 6:14 am

AnnaWu wrote:Sorry, it doesn't work for me, tested with the Family BASIC V3.
Maybe my old Notebook (Windows XP SP3 32-bit) is too slow for this program (Java 8).

No problems to load/save tape files with Nestopia, VirtuaNES, nester, kindred, vdmgr and eFamilyBASIC.

Can you upload a saved/working *.tape file to check I am able to load it or not?
I started putting together an FAQ. Below are some entries related to the Data Recorder. Please let me know if they help you get it going. Thanks.


How do I save a BASIC program to the Data Recorder?

The SAVE command writes a BASIC program to a cassette tape. To save to a file called, "TEST", type in the following, but do not hit Return.

SAVE"TEST"

Start the Data Recorder by selecting Machine | Family BASIC | Record Tape and now hit Return.

It will output:

WRITING TEST

And, when that process is completed, it will display:

OK

Next, select Machine | Family BASIC | Stop Tape.

Finally, select Machine | Family BASIC | Save Tape... to store the tape data to an actual file.

Record Tape actually simulates rewinding the tape back to the beginning before recording. Consequentially, only one file can be stored on the virtual cassette tape. Also, Family BASIC limits file names to 16 characters.


How do I load a BASIC program from the Data Recorder?

If the tape data is in an actual file, select Machine | Family BASIC | Load Tape... to retrieve it.

Next, enter the following command and press Return:

LOAD

Select Machine | Family BASIC | Play Tape. A loading message will appear followed by OK.

Finally, stop the Data Recorder via Machine | Family BASIC | Stop Tape.


Can other games use the Data Recorder?

Yes. Castle Excellent, Excitebike, Mach Rider and Wrecking Crew can use the Data Recorder to save tracks or stages created by players. Be sure to select Record Tape to start the Data Recorder before selecting save in the game. And, select Play Tape after selecting load in the game.

AnnaWu
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:31 am

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by AnnaWu » Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:08 am

Thanks zeroone.

Found my mistake, I hit always Return
instead of
"To save to a file called, "xxxx", type in the following, but do not hit Return."

Is it possible to start Nintaco with the preferable speed set?
Because "Normal" is too slow for me.

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by zeroone » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:02 pm

AnnaWu wrote:Thanks zeroone.

Found my mistake, I hit always Return
instead of
"To save to a file called, "xxxx", type in the following, but do not hit Return."
There is a very similar sentence in the actual Family BASIC manual :)
AnnaWu wrote:Is it possible to start Nintaco with the preferable speed set?
Because "Normal" is too slow for me.
I can add that feature. You use faster speeds for BASIC programs?

AnnaWu
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:31 am

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by AnnaWu » Tue Apr 04, 2017 9:18 pm

zeroone wrote: You use faster speeds for BASIC programs?
No, general to use Nintaco on older PC with WinXP.
zeroone wrote: Yes. Castle Excellent, Excitebike, Mach Rider and Wrecking Crew can use the Data Recorder to save tracks or stages created by players. Be sure to select Record Tape to start the Data Recorder before selecting save in the game. And, select Play Tape after selecting load in the game.
I think Arkanoid II and Lode Runner support the Data Recorder too.
The menu on Lode Runner is only visible if the keyboard is available.

Image Image

Pokun
Posts: 1271
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Location: Hokkaido, Japan

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by Pokun » Wed Apr 05, 2017 2:13 am

Yep I can confirm that both games supports the tape recorder. Though Lode Runner requires detecting the keyboard, like AnnaWu said, and this doesn't work properly in some emulators like Nestopia. Also Arkanoid II seems very picky as I couldn't load my level properly on my real Famicom and Family Keyboard. Saving worked but when I loaded it from tape it turned out scrambled. It doesn't seem to work in Nestopia either.

AnnaWu
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:31 am

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by AnnaWu » Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:01 am

Pokun wrote:Though Lode Runner requires detecting the keyboard, like AnnaWu said, and this doesn't work properly in some emulators like Nestopia.
It woks on VirtuaNES, kindred and vdmgr.

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by zeroone » Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:17 am

AnnaWu wrote:No, general to use Nintaco on older PC with WinXP.
Nintaco is not super optimized. It favors modern machines. The speed options do not compensate for slower boxes, unfortunately.
AnnaWu wrote:I think Arkanoid II and Lode Runner support the Data Recorder too.
The menu on Lode Runner is only visible if the keyboard is available.
Cool. I'll play around with these and update the FAQ accordingly. We should also update the wiki.

AnnaWu
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:31 am

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by AnnaWu » Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:14 am

Pokun wrote:Also Arkanoid II seems very picky as I couldn't load my level properly on my real Famicom and Family Keyboard. Saving worked but when I loaded it from tape it turned out scrambled. It doesn't seem to work in Nestopia either.
Arkanoid II
It seems with kindred (emulator) can I LOAD/SAVE/PLAY the edited level in EDIT MODE.
With all other emulators ( VirtuaNES, vdmgr,...) I have a problem with "LOAD" too.
The saved level (*.wav) with vdmgr is working on kindred.

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by zeroone » Sat Apr 08, 2017 3:52 pm

AnnaWu wrote:Arkanoid II
It seems with kindred (emulator) can I LOAD/SAVE/PLAY the edited level in EDIT MODE.
With all other emulators ( VirtuaNES, vdmgr,...) I have a problem with "LOAD" too.
The saved level (*.wav) with vdmgr is working on kindred.
In Nintaco, I am able to save edited Arkanoid II levels with the Data Recorder; however, with Lode Runner, I can't get the save/load menu to appear even when the Keyboard and Data Recorder are attached. Does that work in any emulator?

AnnaWu
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:31 am

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by AnnaWu » Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:03 am

zeroone wrote:
AnnaWu wrote:Arkanoid II
It seems with kindred (emulator) can I LOAD/SAVE/PLAY the edited level in EDIT MODE.
With all other emulators ( VirtuaNES, vdmgr,...) I have a problem with "LOAD" too.
The saved level (*.wav) with vdmgr is working on kindred.
In Nintaco, I am able to save edited Arkanoid II levels with the Data Recorder;
To save levels is not the problem but to load it. Only kindred is able to load edited levels.
zeroone wrote: however, with Lode Runner, I can't get the save/load menu to appear even when the Keyboard and Data Recorder are attached. Does that work in any emulator?
Yes, with vdmgr or kindred as example.
Here a simply edited level (*.wav)
Tested on vdmgr and kindred.
Attachments
Lode Runner (J).wav.zip
(9.56 KiB) Downloaded 248 times

AnnaWu
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:31 am

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by AnnaWu » Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:28 am

Big thanks goes to the Japanese vdmgr programmer.
He fixed the load/save problem with Arkanoid II.
The waveform logic was reversed.

Here a simply edited level (*.wav)
Tested on vdmgr.
Attachments
Arkanoid II (J).wav.zip
(9.57 KiB) Downloaded 247 times

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by zeroone » Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:08 am

AnnaWu wrote:To save levels is not the problem but to load it. Only kindred is able to load edited levels.
I am able to save and load edited Arkanoid II levels in Nintaco.

I'll explore vdmgr and kindred to try to figure out why Lode Runner under Nintaco is not detecting the Keyboard.

AnnaWu
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:31 am

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by AnnaWu » Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:14 am

zeroone wrote:
AnnaWu wrote:To save levels is not the problem but to load it. Only kindred is able to load edited levels.
I am able to save and load edited Arkanoid II levels in Nintaco.

I'll explore vdmgr and kindred to try to figure out why Lode Runner under Nintaco is not detecting the Keyboard.
Unfortunately, vdmgr and kindred are not open source.

Pokun
Posts: 1271
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Location: Hokkaido, Japan

Re: Nintaco -- NES-Famicom-Dendy Emulator

Post by Pokun » Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:26 am

Maybe you could figure out how Lode Runner is detecting the keyboard. If successful it could be added to the wiki for other emulator authors to get it to work as well.

Post Reply