It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:51 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Check out my emulator
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:07 pm 

I just put together a website for my emulator:
http://nemulator.com

Not too much there now, other than the emulator, of course, but I plan on putting up some tutorials and other stuff (if you have any ideas, let me know). The tutorials will be aimed at newbie NES emulator developers, but will hopefully be of use to everyone. The first will be on PPU emulation, then I think I will do one explaining how to use blargg's sound library with DirectSound (since I saw the question asked a while ago).

I've been working on the emulator on and off since 2003, so, in any event, it will at least be nice to track it's progress here.

Source code is not up yet, but will be soon.

Oh yeah, the emulator :D... It has it's issues, which you can read about on the website, but all-in-all, I'm happy where it's at. Give it a try if you have a chance and if you have any comments about it, please let me know.

Thanks,
James

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 2:29 pm 

Your emu is working fine. :)

Got one tip for you though:
It sounds like you are writing to a sound block while it's playing, causing distorted sound occasionally.
Before flushing sound to the output buffer, check and see if the block you're writing to is currently playing. If so, sleep for a few milliseconds and then try again.
Perhaps you're already doing this, but that's what it sounded like. :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 2:35 pm 
Can you try it in full-screen mode and see if you still hear the distortion. I think this is actually being caused by delays introduced in the windowed v-sync routine.

Or it may be because I've set the DirectSound buffer too small -- I haven't tested on a wide-range of hardware configurations.

Thanks for trying it out!

James

Post subject: nice
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 9:06 pm