Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by zeroone » Tue Jul 24, 2018 9:49 am

I noticed the following effect in Nintaco and Mesen:

Image

I assume it's related to changing the palette mid-frame. Do any artifacts show up on a real NES?

User avatar
rainwarrior
Posts: 7716
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by rainwarrior » Tue Jul 24, 2018 9:54 am

No, they don't on mine.
Edit: I take this back, it does happen, just not on all resets. PPU alignment? See below.
Last edited by rainwarrior on Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by zeroone » Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:03 am

The effect is also present in RockNES. I can't seem to open the ROM in Nintendulator. The effect is not present in FCEUX or Nestopia.

User avatar
rainwarrior
Posts: 7716
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by rainwarrior » Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:05 am

My capture device can see a bit further into the hblank than my TV will show. Here's a slow motion view of that.
Attachments
indiana_jones_title_wider_capture.gif

User avatar
rainwarrior
Posts: 7716
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by rainwarrior » Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:08 am

Actually! I take this all back.

The artifacts do occur on a real NES, just not every time. I think this is a PPU alignment thing where some resets it will have no artifact, and some resets you'll see a few pixels worth.

So... actually those emulators are fine. I can make it look like that on some resets.

(FCEUX is not a good thing to compare against for pixel perfect timings like that, even New PPU mode in FCEUX only has a granularity of 8 pixels per CPU synchronization.)

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by zeroone » Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:15 am

Hmm. That's really interesting. Resetting the emulators consistently produces the effect. But that could be a consequence what happens to the PPU upon reset within the emulator.

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11519
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by tokumaru » Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:59 am

Emulators don't have different CPU/PPU alignments like the real console does.

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3192
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by Zepper » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:34 pm

...
Last edited by Zepper on Wed Jul 25, 2018 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rainwarrior
Posts: 7716
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by rainwarrior » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:43 pm

Let you know what?

User avatar
Zepper
Formerly Fx3
Posts: 3192
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by Zepper » Tue Jul 24, 2018 3:00 pm

...
Last edited by Zepper on Wed Jul 25, 2018 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rainwarrior
Posts: 7716
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by rainwarrior » Tue Jul 24, 2018 5:15 pm

Oh, well I don't see any such artifacts on it, but I'm testing with PowerPak and that raster split is MMC3 IRQ based, so I couldn't tell you if this is an accurate emulation of that or not. (Indiana Jones on the other hand wasn't IRQ based, so I'd assume the PowerPak version is pretty close if not identical to the real cart.)

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by zeroone » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:01 am

Zepper wrote:Argh, ok, I'll spoil the same problem with Gauntlet II.
Those artifacts do not appear in other emulators.
rainwarrior wrote:I'm testing with PowerPak
Can you post pics of the scanline and seam glitches in Super Mario Bros. 3 and Mega Man 3 ? I'm just curious what it's really supposed to look like :)

Also, does the scanline glitch appear on the NES Classic?

User avatar
dougeff
Posts: 2630
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Location: DIGDUG
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by dougeff » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:20 am

the scanline glitch appear on the NES Classic?
I can confirm Megaman 3 (stage select) and SMB 3 have very obvious screen split glitches.

I don't own Gauntlet 2 nor Last Crusade.
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES

User avatar
zeroone
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by zeroone » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:24 am

dougeff wrote:I can confirm Megaman 3 (stage select) and SMB 3 have very obvious screen split glitches.
Cool. I'm glad they did not patch the ROM or hack the emulator to conceal those issues.

User avatar
dougeff
Posts: 2630
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Location: DIGDUG
Contact:

Re: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Taito) title screen

Post by dougeff » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:48 am

You know, I misread your question.

I meant on an original NES.

I don't own NES classic.
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES

Post Reply