Emulating U-Force

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

zeroone

Emulating U-Force

Post by zeroone »

Nocash's technical description looks simple enough to implement, but mapping U-Force's sensors to the keyboard and/or mouse is problematic. Has anyone come up with a control scheme sufficient for U-Force Power Games, the unreleased prototype cart and the only cart that uses the analog mode?
Dwedit

Re: Emulating U-Force

Post by Dwedit »

Motion controllers are common enough these days. A Wii remote, PS4 controller, or Steam Controller can approximate physical position.
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!
zeroone

Post by zeroone »

Dwedit wrote:Motion controllers are common enough these days. A Wii remote, PS4 controller, or Steam Controller can approximate physical position.
Thanks for the suggestions. I'm still studying devices capabilities, but from what I've seen so far, it's quite limited. A mouse is likely sufficient for the analog stuff.

As for one of the digital modes, take a look at this guy's YouTube channel.

Since the output of the U-Force is the same as a standard NES controller when in any of the digital modes, it can be used against any emulator with an NES-to-PC adapter.

The U-Force has switches that enable the user to toggle through at least 5 different modes (A through E). Each mode assigns the sensors to different controller buttons. Unfortunately, neither Kevtris nor Nocash fully documented how that mapping happens. But from that video, at least Mode E (flat mode) is clear: The 4 circular sensors across the bottom are mapped to left, right, B and A, from left-to-right respectively. The rarely used up and down buttons are mapped to the sensors at the center edges (far left = up, far right = down).