How to compile fceux?

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

nesrocks

How to compile fceux?

Post by nesrocks » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:24 am

I have downloaded fceux 2.2.3 src from here, but I can't figure out what's needed to compile it (consider I'm a total newbie).
It seems to have visual studio 2010 v100 compatible project files, but I don't have vs 2010 and microsoft says it is not for me. I have vs 2017 but refactoring the solution expectedly generate hundreds of errors. Is there a simpler way than using visual studio?

What I want to do: change a few things on the debugger window, for personal use. Exactly how I want to change it:
Last edited by nesrocks on Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:46 am, edited 2 times in total.
https://twitter.com/bitinkstudios <- Follow me on twitter! Thanks!

Zepper
Formerly Fx3

Re: How to compile fceux?

Post by Zepper » Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:25 am

Code: Select all

To compile and install FCEUX for SDL, follow the instructions in the README-SDL.md file.

Users of Microsoft Visual Studio can use the solution files within the vc directory.
These solution files will compile FCEUX and some included libraries for full functionality.

CMake has been depreciated in favor of scons.  However, if you wish to use it you can find the old cmake build files in the ~attic.
From the file README-SDL:

Code: Select all

1 - Requirements
----------------
* libsdl1.2 - It is strongly recommended that you upgrade to the latest
	version of sdl (1.2.15 at the time of writing).
* scons - Required to build fceux.
* libgtk2.0 (optional) - version >= 2.24 recommended
* libgtk3.0 (optional) - this compiles as of fceux 2.2.0
* liblua5.1 (optional)
* libgd (optional) - required for LOGO and CREATE_AVI options (https://bitbucket.org/libgd/gd-libgd/downloads)
* minizip (optional) - you may chose to use the version of minizip on your system by enabling SYSTEM_MINIZIP in the SConstruct