It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:57 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 10:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 1845
Have you guys tried "Cybernoid - The Fighting Machine"? It just recently got brought to my attention. Looks like the graphics get screwed when you flush with $FF and work when you flush with $00.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 6:18 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3076
Location: Brazil
I suspect the actual dump is bad. :|

_________________
Zepper
RockNES developer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:12 pm 
http://nesdev.com/Scrollde38.zip doesn't work at all when RAM is initialised at 0 instead of 0xff

Apologies for the topickick


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:17 pm
Posts: 355
Rise from your grave, topic. Hello old hap, you're wrong, you switched values. Anyway, I tried Minna no Taabou no Nakayoshi Daisakusen (J), and it doesn't work when RAM is set at 0x0. (I quite like that game, it's a remake of an MSX game I enjoyed when I was a kid).

To make it a bit clear:
RAM at 0x0:
- Minna no Taabou no Nakayoshi Daisakusen (J): won't work
- Final Fantasy: problem with random encounters (?)
RAM at 0xff (as confirmed by blargg):
- Cybernoid - The Fighting Machine (U): messed up graphics
- SMB1 (bad dump!): start at minus world
- Sayoonara: no music
- Scrollde38: won't work
- pputime2 ( http://tripoint.org/kevtris/mappers/incoming/ ): block moves to the right


*edit*: added pputime2


Last edited by hap on Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:50 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:22 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3076
Location: Brazil
Which emulator are you using for such tests?

_________________
Zepper
RockNES developer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:17 pm
Posts: 355
I collected most from this thread, and use my emulator to test things (except for Sayoonara: no sound yet :p ).

As for other emulators: I think Disch's emu flushes RAM with 0xff, and Quietust's Nintendulator flushes it with 0x0, judging from the behaviour between the two when testing the above list.

I'm not sure what Disch meant with the Final Fantasy problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 8:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 1845
You wouldn't notice the encounter bug unless you're a real FF1 geek like me. The games' random encounters are not random in all -- in fact it steps through a huge list which dictates which battle to fight -- making all your battles predictable as clockwork.

This FAQ here has it listed:
http://www.gamefaqs.com/console/nes/game/522595.html (select the "Character Lists" FAQ by 'Patbuns17' in the bottom section)

Search for "_Random Encounter List_" (no quotes, but keep the underscores) to jump to the section which contains it.

Every time you hard reset (or repower the actual NES), you start over in the encounter list. This can be abused by saving in town and hard resetting to make the next fight in the sea a pack of Kyzokus (they give lots of money). However on emulators, the game will start on the second entry in the table rather than the first entry in the table. I speculated that this was because it uses unprepped RAM for the counter, which is FF on the real system and 00 on emulators (which would be why emulators start one step in the table). After changing the way my emu flushes RAM this was confirmed, as the battle list started at the same point as on the NES.


Last edited by Disch on Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 9:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:17 pm
Posts: 355
But isn't it very likely that that FAQ was made using an emulator ? Or do you remember the Kyzokus cheat on the real NES ?

pputime2 and Sayoonara have been tested on a real NES, and that contradicts blarrg's test result.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 10:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 1845
I was a regular at the FF1 gamefaqs board around the time of that FAQ's devlopment. The encounter list was mapped out on both the real system and on emulators (NNNesterJ or FCEU probably, I can't recall) -- they were identical except for the starting point on powerup. I believe the list in that FAQ is taken from the actual system, and not from an emulator. Though I can't say with 100% certainty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19350
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Disch wrote:


On every single HTML page of GameFAQs is the following request:
Feel free to link to this page, but not directly to the FAQs..

You're seeing this error message because it appears that you're linking from an external site directly to one of the text files stored at GameFAQs. GameFAQs is not a free public file server. Bandwidth costs money, and when sites link directly to files stored on the site, it becomes both a financial and resource drain. We've tried asking, but some sites simply don't care, so now we've implemented a technical solution.

Your browser is reporting that you linked to a GameFAQs-hosted FAQ from http://nesdev.com/bbs/viewtopic.php?t=223&start=15.

There are four possible reasons you are seeing this message:

  1. You came from a direct link to a FAQ on GameFAQs from another site, and your link was properly blocked. See the paragraph above for why.
  2. Your web browser is passing improper URL data in the Referrer header. Your web browser may be over-compensating for a mistake you made in the address bar, and passing this information unintentionally. To fix this, just click the "Home" link on the left and surf normally.
  3. Your web browser is passing forged URL data in the Referrer header. Some browsers can be configured to hide referrer information, but instead of passing a blank header, it passes a forged one. To fix this, change your browser's security settings. If you are using Opera and having problems, try viewing this page for some pointers.
  4. You are behind a firewall or proxy server, and it is passing forged URL data in the Referrer header. If you are using one of these services, you or your network administrator may need to change the configuration.




The correct link is
http://www.gamefaqs.com/console/nes/game/522595.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 12:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 5:02 am
Posts: 40
In the struggle to make the puzzle pieces fit together, this setup will at least make the commercial games and pputime2 work properly:

void Cpu::Ram::Reset()
{
std::memset( mem + 0x000, 0xFF, 0x3F0 );
std::memset( mem + 0x3F0, 0x00, 0x010 );
std::memset( mem + 0x400, 0xFF, 0x1F0 );
std::memset( mem + 0x5F0, 0x00, 0x010 );
std::memset( mem + 0x600, 0xFF, 0x200 );

mem[0x08] = 0xF7;
mem[0x09] = 0xEF;
mem[0x0A] = 0xDF;
mem[0x0F] = 0xBF;
}


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 3:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:59 pm
Posts: 1393
Keep in mind that Kevin Horton's "pputime2" demo was tested on CopyNES, which initializes all memory to zero.

_________________
Quietust, QMT Productions
P.S. If you don't get this note, let me know and I'll write you another.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:17 pm
Posts: 355
Ah, that's good to know. Does CopyNES do anything else significant ? (eg. disabling frame IRQs). Or even better, is its internal ROM (file) freely available to the public ? If not, perhaps Kevin Horton would be willing to release it ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7317
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
hap wrote:
Rise from your grave, topic. Hello old hap, you're wrong, you switched values. Anyway, I tried Minna no Taabou no Nakayoshi Daisakusen (J), and it doesn't work when RAM is set at 0x0. (I quite like that game, it's a remake of an MSX game I enjoyed when I was a kid).

Sorry, I'm going out of the topic, but this game seems to have the same sound code that FF3, it really sound the same. How surprising ! Has it be designed by Square or something ? Else, was it somme "licence-free" sound code that could be used from a library or something (?) for all NES developpers ? I also noted that SD gundam 3 and 4, that wasn't be made by Square at all also have the same sound code.

_________________
Life is complex: it has both real and imaginary components.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group